2016 NNSW Waratahs Team Photo 830 x 477

The 2016 Australian Netball League Finals Series took place at Netball Central last weekend – 25-26 June – and saw the Netball NSW Waratahs take out the sliver medal, after just missing out to the VIC Fury in the Grand Final.

The Fury, who won their fourth consecutive title, were joined in Saturday’s semi-finals by Western Sting, Southern Force and the NNSW Waratahs – the latter playing the series on their home turf. The Victorians produced a wonderful two-day performance and were well deserved of another title at the end of a fantastic weekend of netball.

Fury defeated the Western Sting in the first of Saturday’s semi-finals, eventually running out 56-74 winners in a close contest to book their place in Sunday’s Grand Final. They were joined there by their NSW hosts, after the Waratahs won a thrilling semi-final against the Southern Force 58-56 in perhaps the game of the weekend.

If the action on the Saturday had already lived up to expectations, Sunday’s may well have exceeded it as all four teams took to the court again to serve up more top-quality action. The Sting and Force played out an enthralling Preliminary Final with the Western Australians taking out the Bronze Medal, finishing well to take the spoils 68-60.

The stage was set for an epic Grand Final and it didn’t disappoint as the Fury, who had some good travelling support of their own in the crowd, and Waratahs played out a thriller. A poor second quarter, which NSW entered leading by one goal and exited trailing by seven, would prove to be the undoing of the home team, as the Fury seized the advantage and managed to maintain it right to the very end to claim another title.

There was a silver lining for the Waratahs, however, with goal attack Vanessa Mullampy being named the ANL’s Most Valuable Player for 2016 after a fine year which saw her come into her own on court.

The Waratahs finished the ANL regular season in second place on the ladder with six wins, three losses and one draw to their names from 10 games.

2016 Netball NSW Waratahs

Kiera AUSTIN – Eastwood Ryde
Jessica CALDERARA – Eastwood Ryde
Taylah DAVIES – Eastwood Ryde
Sophie HALPIN – Eastwood Ryde
Maddie HAY – Sutherland Shire
Georgia MARSHALL – Manly Warringah
Alison MILLER – Ku-ring-gai
Vanessa MULLAMPY – Penrith District
Claire O’BRIEN – St George District
Teigan O’SHANNASSY – Manly Warringah
Kara STYLES – St George District
Ashley VALENI – Sutherland Shire
Replacement Players: Amy Parmenter, Laura Towell
Head Coach: Briony Akle
Assistant Coach: Sonia Mkoloma
Team Manager: Mardi Aplin
Lead Physiotherapist: Yves Silveira
Assistant Physiotherapist: Gemma Vale

Click here to view the 2016 ANL draw.

2016 Netball NSW Waratahs – ANL Fixtures
Round 1
Sat 30 AprilNNSW Waratahs 68 d QLD Fusion 46Brisbane Entertainment Centre
Sun 1 MayNNSW Waratahs 51 drew QLD Fusion 51Ormiston College, QLD
Round 2
Sat 7 MayNNSW Waratahs 52 d Canberra Darters 37Netball Central, NSW
Sun 8 MayNNSW Waratahs 65 d Canberra Darters 46Netball Central, NSW
Round 3
Sat 14 MayNNSW Waratahs 44 d by VIC Fury 60State Netball & Hockey Centre, VIC
Sun 15 MayNNSW Waratahs 50 d VIC Fury 41Hisense Arena, VIC
Rounds 4-6
Round 7
Sat 11 JuneNNSW Waratahs 63 d Western Sting 60Newcastle Entertainment Centre, NSW
Sun 12 JuneNNSW Waratahs 50 d by Western Sting 59Netball Central, NSW
Round 8
Sat 11 JuneNNSW Waratahs 48 d by Southern Force 50Titanium Security Arena, SA
Sun 19 JuneNNSW Waratahs 66 d Southern Force 54Priceline Stadium, SA
Finals Series
Sat 25 JuneSF 1: VIC Fury 56 d Western Sting 47Netball Central, NSW
SF 2: NNSW Waratahs 58 d Southern Force 56Netball Central, NSW
Sun 26 JunePF: Western Sting 68 d Southern Force 60Netball Central, NSW
GF: NNSW Waratahs 46 d by VIC Fury 53Netball Central, NSW

Absent from team photo: Sophie Halpin and Gemma Vale.