Winning start to Comm Games

The Australian Netball Team has opened its 2014 Commonwealth Games campaign with a commanding 63-36 win over Wales on Thursday night in Glasgow.

After a close first quarter the Aussies raced away to set up a commanding 32-17 lead at halftime, allowing coach Lisa Alexander to try a number of combinations and get all 12 players on court, including Kimberlee Green, and in their Commonwealth Games debuts, Green’s 2015 Swifts teammates Julie Corletto, Sharni Layton and Caitlin Thwaites.

Full details of the game will be available on the Netball Australia website

It was a rusty start to the tournament for the Australians but the first litmus test will come at 6:30pm AEST on Saturday night against England, which will pit 2015 NSW Swifts recruit Jade Clarke against against her future Swifts teammates. Clarke and England begin their campaign tomorrow (Friday 26 July) against Wales.

View broadcast details here

Australia’s Commonwealth Games Schedule*:
Thursday 24 July: Australia 63 def Wales 36 @ 10:30pm
Saturday 26 July: Australia v England @ 6:30pm
Sunday 27 July: Australia v Barbados @ 8:30pm
Monday 28 July: Australia v Trinidad & Tobago @ 8:30pm
Wednesday 30 July: Australia v South Africa @ 6:30pm
Classification Matches: Thursday 31 July & Friday 1 August
Semi Finals: Saturday 2 August (7:00pm & 9:30pm)
Bronze Medal Match: Sunday 3 August @ 7:00pm
Gold medal Match: Sunday 3 August @ 9:30pm *all times AEST

The XX Commonwealth Games will be broadcast by Channel 10, OneHD and Tenplay.  Please check local guides for broadcast schedules.

2015 is shaping up to be a very exciting season for the NSW Swifts! The NSW Swifts take great pride on delivering a Membership and game-day experience Beyond Expectation, and this will again be the Club’s mission next season. 2015 Memberships go on sale at 10am AEST, Monday 4 August 2014. Click here to view 2015 Membership Packages and we’ll see you in the RED ZONE!