2014 Netball NSW State Dinner

Netball NSW held its 2014 State Dinner on Saturday night in the Grand Ballroom at Allphones Arena in front of almost 350 members of the netball community.

Stay tuned to www.netballnsw.com next week as we place a spotlight on the winners and award recipients from this prestigious evening.

“2014 will be remembered as another highly successful year for netball in New South Wales, with participation and engagement growing across all areas of our sport,” stated Netball NSW President Wendy Archer AM.

“Success isn’t just defined as results on court, but the wins that our Members achieve off it. This can be measured by the smiles on our record number of NetSetGO members, the increased teams taking part in school-based competitions, accreditations and badges obtained by our coaches, umpires, bench officials and administrators, or grants gained for facility upgrades. Our netball community continues to work tirelessly to develop our great sport and deliver a product which is revered by its peers and enjoyed by thousands.”

“As this year draws to a close, we look forward with eager anticipation to our pending move to Netball Central, our world-class centre of excellence, and playing a significant role in delivering the Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015,” concluded Archer.

The Netball NSW State Dinner is a celebration of the sport in the State throughout the 2014 season. In addition to acknowledging the performances of the NSW representative teams at the National Netball Championships, Australian Netball League and ANZ Championship, a number of individuals were honoured for their achievements during 2014.

2014 Netball NSW State Dinner Awards:

Hall of Fame Inductees  Netball NSW Hall of Fame (all years)
Vicki Kerr
Helen Mann*
Marilyn Melhuish OAM
Edna Pritchard*

Anne Clark Service Awards – Past winners (all years)
Marilyn Latham – Eastwood Ryde
Annette Rowe – Baulkham Hills
Betty Spillane – Inner Western Suburbs
Margaret West – Charlestown

Nance Kenny OAM Medal – DOOLEYS State League Player of the Year  Past winners (all years)
Kaitlyn Bryce – St George

Marilyn Melhuish OAM NSW Swifts Player of the Year  Past winners (all years)
Kimberlee Green

Marj Groves AM Scholarship  Past winners (all years)
Taylah Davies – Sutherland Shire

Judy Dunbar Media Awards  Past winners (all years)
Best Photo – Steve Gosch, Central Western Daily
Best Feature – Amanda Shalala, ABC News 24
Overall Coverage – Telegraph Sports Department, NewsCorp
Community Media Excellence – Central Western Daily

Lynn Quinn OAM Bench Officials Award – Past winners (all years)
Dianne Ward – Sutherland Shire

Neita Matthews OAM Umpires Encouragement Award – Past winners (all years)
Kate Howard – Bankstown City

Margaret Corbett DOOLEYS State League Coach of the Year  Past winners (all years)
Vicki Jansen – Sutherland Shire