Bryce shares accolade with teammates

NSW representative Kaitlyn Bryce paid tribute to her teammates when accepting the 2014 Nance Kenny OAM Medal – DOOLEYS State League Player of the Year at the Netball NSW State Dinner held at Allphones Arena over the weekend.

The Nance Kenny OAM Medal is awarded to a DOOLEYS State League Waratah Cup player who has displayed consistent outstanding performances throughout the season, as voted by Netball NSW High Performance coaches on a 3-2-1 basis.

Kaitlyn was an integral member of the Waratah Cup Champion-winning St George side, who claimed the Division 1 State League title for the first time in their Association’s history this season.

“[2014] was a really good year for St George… for me, this was my first year and I think all the credit goes to [St George Head Coach] Moira Gaha and the St George girls. I’m very honoured to be getting this award but more dedicated to the girls and the coaching staff and everyone who has supported us throughout the season,” Kaitlyn told the State Dinner audience.

A former recipient of the Marj Groves AM Scholarship, Kaitlyn is a successful example of the Netball NSW Player Development Pathway having represented the State at both 17/U and 21/U National Netball Championships, attended the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) netball program in 2012, as well as selection in Australian underage squads.

After taking a year out from netball last year to concentrate on her studies, Kaitlyn returned to DOOLEYS State League action this season with St George and was announced as part of the 2015 NSW 21/U Phase II intake of athletes.

Introduced at the turn of the century, former Nance Kenny OAM Medal recipients include former NSW Swifts Samantha May, Tiffany Gilmour (nee Lincoln) and Kimberly Borger, who was also St George teammate of Kaitlyn’s this year.

Watch the full Kaitlyn Bryce acceptance speech via NetballNSWTV below;

Congratulations Kaitlyn!

Nance Kenny OAM Medal – DOOLEYS State League Player of the Year
2014       Kaitlyn Bryce – St George
2013       Leah Shoard – Sutherland Shire
2012       Tiffany Lincoln – Hunter United
2011       Kimberly Borger- St George, Samantha May – Baulkham Hills
2010       Tiffany Lincoln – Manly Warringah
2009       Kelly Adamson – Hunter and Central Coast United
2008       Landell Archer – Fairfield City / Sydney Uni
2007       Joanne Day – Eastwood Ryde
2006       Applee Kennengiesser – Penrith District, Katie Walker – Manly Warringah
2005       Samantha May – Sydney Storm
2004       Megan Bertenshaw – Hawkesbury City, Kelly Adamson – Penrith District
2003       Tanya Lund – Manly Warringah
2002       Nerida Stewart – Ku-ring-gai
2001       Nerida Stewart – Ku-ring-gai
2000       Shay Barley – NSWIS