Netball NSW takes out inaugural Sport NSW gong

It was a successful night for Netball NSW at the inaugural NSW Champions of Sport Awards, which were hosted last night at Rosehill Gardens, Monday 27 November.

Netball NSW was named joint recipient of the Organisation of the Year award, alongside AFL NSW/ACT, to acknowledge its success both on and off the court – including business growth, being an industry leader, volunteer management strategies and strong teamwork.

“We’re thrilled to accept this award in acknowledgement of all the hard work and dedication many people give for the love of netball,” CEO Carolyn Campbell said.

“While the headlines usually tell stories of our on court success, I’m most proud of what we do off the court – whether it be the work we are doing in the community with programs, workshops and clinics, to nurturing and developing talent in our playing, coaching and officiating pathways.

“As a result, we set ourselves up as a benchmark not only for Netball, but for women’s sport, and that’s something I’m incredibly proud of. At the end of the day we want to see more girls and boys playing and participating in sport, in netball, and leading happy and healthy lives.

“I’d like to thank the Netball NSW Board of Directors, the Executive and Staff for their tireless work and dedication in what we do.  It’s a collective effort to be recognised with this accolade, and is a welcome reward for their belief in our values: We Are Passionate, We Are Team, Our Integrity Defines Us, We Will Excel, and We Are Connected.”

Netball was also named a Finalist in seven other categories:

  • Administrator of the Year: Mike Anderson (WINNER: David Thompson – Hockey NSW)
  • Official of the Year: Ruth Havrlant (WINNER: Lubomir Petr – Judo)
  • Coach of the Year: Julie Fitzgerald, GIANTS Netball (WINNER: Glen Hall – Surfing)
  • Event of the Year: Round 14 Suncorp Super Netball Double Header (WINNER: Australian Badminton Open Super Series)
  • Team of the Year with a Disability: NSW Marie Little OAM Shield Team (WINNER: Under 19s Australian Women’s Goalball Team)
  • Team of the Year: GIANTS Netball (WINNER: Sydney FC)
  • Young Athlete of the Year: Dallas Austin, Blue Mountains (WINNER: Gregory Luff – Wheelchair Track & Road)

Full list of categories available here.

Along with the announcement of the 2017 Award Winners, five athletes were also inducted into the NSW Hall of Champions; a sport museum and hall of fame which pays tribute to the State’s greatest sporting successes.

The five athletes were Warren Birmingham (Hockey), Matthew Nielsen (Basketball), Rochelle Gilmore (Cycling), Matthew Mitcham OAM (Diving) and Michael Clarke (Cricket), while Australia’s greatest ever Olympian – Ian Thorpe OAM – was elevated to Legend status.

Netball NSW would like to thank Sport NSW for the evening and congratulate all the winners and finalists including in the inaugural NSW Champions of Sport Awards > more information on the awards available here.

Header image: L-R: Gregory Will, Sport NSW Director, Sam Graham, CEO, ALF NSW/ACT, Ruth Havrlant, Netball NSW Director, Carolyn Campbell, CEO, Netball NSW, Debbie Le roux, Dean & Operations Director, ACPE