NSW athletes honoured at Hall of Fame dinner

Three NSW representatives were last night honoured at the Sport Australia Hall of Fame dinner at Melbourne’s Crown Casino.

Netball NSW Hall of Fame members Liz Ellis AM, Sharon Finnan OAM and Carissa Tombs OAM and their 1999 Australian teammates were recognised with the Team Sport Australia Award at last night’s 30th Anniversary of the awards, with Liz Ellis accepting the acknowledgement for the team.

Along with the 1965 Australian women’s softball team, the 1999 Netball World Champions join the likes of the 1948 `Invincibles’ cricket team, the Sydney Olympic Gold Medal-winning Hockeyroos and the Australia II America’s Cup crew, as well as the 1991 Australian World Netball Championship-winning side.

The Australian netball team that won the 1999 world title in New Zealand was coached by Jill McIntosh and captained by Vicki Wilson, and is famous for a come-from-behind victory over hosts, the Silver Ferns, in the Final played at Christchurch.

Trailing at three-quarter time, Australia produced an inspiring comeback that was sealed by Sharelle McMahon’s final minute goal to give Australia its third straight world title with a memorable 42-41 victory.

Established in 1985, the Sport Australia Hall of Fame plays an important role in preserving and celebrating the country’s rich sporting heritage, whilst promoting the values of courage, sportsmanship, integrity, mateship, persistence, excellence, underpinned by generosity, modesty, pride and ambition.

Introduced in 2002, the Team Sport Australia Award recognises teams who have contributed significantly to Australia’s reputation as a great sporting nation.

Netball NSW would like to congratulate Liz, Sharon and Carissa, and their Australian teammates for the esteemed accolade.

The 1999 Australian Netball Team
Vicki Wilson (captain), Jennifer Borlase, Jacqui Delaney, Liz Ellis, Sharon Finnan, Kathryn Harby, Janine Ilitch, Sharelle McMahon, Shelley O’Donnell, Rebecca Sanders, Peta Scholz and Carissa Tombs.