Swifts Named NSW Team Of The Year At Sports Awards

The NSW Swifts were crowned Team of The Year at the NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony last night after their successful 2019 Suncorp Super Netball season.

Other teams nominated in the category included the NSW Blues, NSW Waratahs Women’s Rugby Team and Sydney FC’s Women’s Team. Swifts Head Coach Briony Akle was also nominated for Coach of the Year, but missed out on the Award.

“It’s been such a humbling experience to be nominated amongst a group of such high calibre teams, and to then take out the award is the cherry on top,” Akle said.

“These girls have worked ridiculously hard this year and deserve all the recognition and accolades that come their way.”

The NSW Champions of Sport Ceremony began back in 2017, where the NSW Sports Awards combined with the NSW Hall of Champions Induction Ceremony.

The night is a celebration of NSW athletes, coaches, officials, organisations and administrators who have had great success on a national and international stage both throughout the past year, and over a long period of time.

Other winners included cricketer Ellyse Perry who took out Sports Person of the Year, Glen McGrath who became the third recipient of the prestigious Waratah – which Swifts legend Liz Ellis won last year – and the late Richie Benaud, who was elevated to legend status in the Hall of Champions.