Ward wins big at State Dinner

Sutherland Shire continued to be well represented at the 2014 Netball NSW State Dinner, with Dianne Ward being named the 2014 Lynn Quinn OAM Bench Officials Award recipient at Allphones Arena.

After starting life as a player, Dianne was persuaded by the Award’s  namesake – Lynn Quinn – to try her hand at bench officiating after she was caught coming out to the Anne Clark Centre and watching the DOOLEYS State League action.

Since then Dianne said she’s enjoyed every minute learning the fine art of scoring and timing from some of the best Bench Officials in the country.

“I’m proud but I’m really, really excited [to receive this award].  I’ve had a fun couple of years learning how to be a bench official and I just feel really humble that Lyn [Quinn] chose me,” Di told NetballNSWTV at the State Dinner.

“[Being a Bench Official] is good fun and I would encourage lots of other people to come and do it, because Lyn makes you feel very welcome and all the ladies there have made me feel so welcome.”

Watch the full NetballNSWTV interview with Dianne Ward below.

Introduced in 2013, the Bench Official of the Year recognises a volunteers who has shown consistency throughout the DOOLEYS State League competition, and has displayed potential, enthusiasm and willingness to learn all aspects of netball – both on and off the court.

Dianne is only the second recipient to be awarded this accolade, which is named after former Netball NSW Board Member Lynn Quinn OAM, who received the Order of Australia Medal in 2012 for her vast contribution to the sport of netball.

Congratulations Dianne!

Lynn Quinn OAM Bench Officials Award
2014       Dianne Ward – Sutherland Shire
2013       Maria Rigor – Hills District Netball Association