Waratah Cup title for the taking

The 2014 DOOLEYS State League Waratah Cup Champions will be decided this Wednesday night, 23 July, at the Anne Clark Centre.

Minor Premiers St George take on defending Champions Eastwood Ryde for the coveted trophy from 7:00pm.

St George lost only one game throughout the season, and it was Eastwood Ryde that got the better of them in Round 8, the reigning Champs taking the win 45-35.

St George took the honours in the pair’s first meeting, 57-39 in Round 1, however past results will count for little on Wednesday night. As Eastwood Ryde Head Coach Jen Wright said after her team won their spot in the decider – Finals netball is a whole different ball game.

“Finals netball is always different. St George have been such a strong team all year; we’ve just got to put our best out there on the court and hope that we can come out with the goods in the end,” Wright said.

St George took the direct path to the Grand Final; after finishing on top of the ladder they took care of Sutherland in the Major Semi Final to advance straight to the decider, while Eastwood Ryde defeated first City of Sydney/Sydney Uni in the Minor Semi Final, then Sutherland Shire in the Preliminary Final to earn their place.

Take a look out how each team won their spot in Wednesday night’s showdown on NetballNSWTV below:

Major Semi Final: St George 60 def Sutherland Shire 45:

Preliminary Final: Eastwood Ryde 50 def Sutherland Shire 42:

Spectator Entry Fees
Note: Season Passes NOT VALID for Final Series.
GRAND FINAL PRICES – $6 adult; $3 student / concession / child (3-17yo)

If you can’t make it to Anne Clark Centre on the night, stay tuned to @netballnsw on twitter and Instagram plus facebook (www.facebook.com/officialnetballnsw) for score updates.