Sponsored by footwear company Dunlop, The Golden Boot was the prize awarded to the victorious State at the National Open Championships throughout the 1980s and 1990s.

It was a tournament that NSW dominated as the State Opens team won an amazing nine national titles under the stewardship of Head Coach Margaret Corbett OAM and Team Manager Marilyn Melhuish OAM.

Great stories also developed around the game at that time. Corbett became famous all over NSW as she went from town to town, and Association to Association, in her trusty Mazda 626 to find the best talent she could to bring success to the State.

Thus it came to pass that NSW won Golden Boots in 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1991, 1992, and 1993. That the netball shoe was dipped in gold was fitting to mark a golden age of success for Netball NSW.

“Long before Suncorp Super Netball, the Trans-Tasman Netball League and Commonwealth Bank Trophy there was The Golden Boot,” Archer said when inducting the Golden Boots into Netball NSW’s Hall of Fame Heritage Category at the 2017 State Dinner.

“Not only did the NSW dominate the Golden Boot, players such as Lisa Beehag, Susan Kenny OAM, Nicole Cusack, Carissa Tombs OAM, Keeley Devery OAM, Marcia Ella-Duncan OAM, Sharon Finnan, Wendy Etherington, Natallie Avellino, Cheryl McCormack, Marianne Murphy, Annie Sargeant OAM, Karan Bulloch and Catriona Wagg OAM all became staples of the Australian Diamonds team.

“No matter the weather, come rain, hair or shine – and in an era when Diamonds would star for Australia against the Kiwis one week then play on their local Clubs’ outdoor courts the next, netball in NSW excelled backed then as it does today.

“It was one of our golden periods and we are delighted to induct these nine Golden Boots into the Netball NSW Hall Of Fame.”