1969 Touring Team enter Hall of Fame


In 2016 Netball NSW introduced a new category to our Hall of Fame – the Heritage Category.

The category has been framed to acknowledge significant historical icons, teams and pieces of history; things and collectives as it were, not individual athletes who are covered by Athlete and General Divisions.

At the 2016 Netball NSW State Dinner a team of huge historical significance was inducted under the Heritage Category- the 1969 Touring Team to the Pesta Sukan Tournament.

The team, selected from the NSW Netball Association, represented Australia at the Tournament in Singapore to mark its 150th anniversary. The Tournament was played over five days from 11-15 August 1969 at the Singapore Netball courts.

There were 15 other countries competing in a range of sports at the tournament, but there was great interest in netball with Army, Navy and Airforce teams also participating. Despite the high level of competition the NSW team went through the tournament undefeated.

At the Closing Ceremony team manager Nance Kenny was presented with a 150th year Anniversary Memento Of the Pesta Sukan (Festival of Sport).

The team was: Captain/Coach – Nola Green (Hall of Fame inductee), Vice-Captain – Carole Sykes (Hall of Fame inductee), Frances Hayes, Nancy Atterton, Carol Trimble, Laraine Burton, Eileen Jones, Kaye Thomas, Jan Meades, Vicki Kerr (nee Poat, Hall of Fame inductee).
Manager – Nance Kenny OAM
Umpire – Neita Matthews OAM

The Board and Staff of Netball NSW are delighted and proud to see such a wonderful team inducted into our Hall of Fame.