Diamonds Constellation Cup squad named

Kim Ravaillion - Diamonds

Head Coach Lisa Alexander and National Selectors Anne Sargeant and Michelle Wilkins have named 12 players for the upcoming Constellation Cup, with only two changes from the Quad Series winning team.

Jo Weston and Gretel Tippett have been provided an opportunity to further their international experience, with recent debutants Kristiana Manu’a* and 2016 NSW Swift Stephanie Wood rested.

Australian Captain Laura Geitz is unavailable for selection after announcing she is expecting her first child.

“We were pleased with our team’s recent performance at the Netball Quad Series and wish to give them more court time together to continue to strengthen their connections,” said Alexander.

“Jo (Weston) and Gretel (Tippett) will provide different options for us. Both had strong ANZ Championship seasons and have impressed selectors with their training during our Quad Series Pre-Departure Camp. They will blend seamlessly into the team.

“After facing the Silver Ferns in the Quad Series, we know we will be challenged in the Constellation Cup. Nothing less than our best will be acceptable in order to retain the Cup. There’s no better sporting rivalry than Australia and New Zealand.”

Clare McMeniman will continue as acting captain, with 2016 NSW Swift Sharni Layton and Caitlin Bassett to maintain their roles as acting vice-captains for the Series.

Limited tickets are still available for the Sydney Test on Sunday 9 October. Tickets are available from Ticketek. Purchase online at, phone 132 849 or any Ticketek outlet.

Australian Diamonds 2016 Constellation Cup Team

Name (state of origin/2016 ANZ Championship team)

Caitlin Bassett (Western Australia, West Coast Fever)
April Brandley (New South Wales, West Coast Fever)*
Sharni Layton (Victoria, NSW Swifts)
Clare McMeniman (Queensland, Queensland Firebirds)
Natalie Medhurst (South Australia, West Coast Fever)
Kim Ravaillion (New South Wales, Queensland Firebirds)*
Madi Robinson (Victoria, Melbourne Vixens)
Gabi Simpson (New South Wales, Queensland Firebirds)*
Caitlin Thwaites (Victoria, NSW Swifts)
Gretel Tippett (Queensland, Queensland Firebirds)
Liz Watson (Victoria, Melbourne Vixens)
Jo Weston (Victoria, Melbourne Vixens)

2016 Constellation Cup – Australia v New Zealand

Sunday 9 October – Qudos Bank Arena -Sydney Olympic Park (3:30pm AEST)
Wednesday 12 October – Silverdome – Launceston, Tasmania (8:10pm AEST)
Saturday 15 October – Vector Arena – Auckland, NZ (7:45pm NZT)
Thursday 20 October – ILT Stadium Southland – Invercargill, NZ (7:45pm NZT)

*denotes NSW representative

– Article courtesy of Netball Australia