Davies goes back-to-back

2015 NSW Swifts recruit Taylah Davies took home the Marj Groves AM Scholarship at the 2014 Netball NSW State Dinner on Saturday evening at Sydney’s Allphones Arena.

It was the second consecutive year the young midcourter has claimed the honour, which is awarded to an outstanding athlete within the NSW Institute of Sport (NSWIS) netball program.

Taylah caught up with NetballNSWTV after accepting her award, where she admitted to being shocked upon receiving the accolade for the second time.

“It was a big surprise; I definitely didn’t expect to get it again.  It’s been a great year and definitely looking forward to [2015 ANZ Championship] as well,” Taylah said.

Before rupturing her Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) during her ANZ Championship debut as a Swifts’ replacement player earlier this season, Taylah was a key member of the NSW 21/U side and spent plenty of time at the NSWIS gym working with their strength and conditioning staff.

However serious injury hasn’t stopped the 20-year-old who has regularly made the long round trip from her Wollongong base to Sydney Olympic Park over the last six months, working hard on her rehabilitation with Swifts teammate Paige Hadley.

“I’ve been doing a lot of training with Paige Hadley, we’ve been working together which has been really good… just training as hard as I can [in preparation for pre-season].”

The Marj Groves AM Scholarship began in 2007 and includes recipients such as Paige Hadley, former NSW Swifts April Letton and Jessica Mansell, as well as Adelaide Thunderbirds Samantha Poolman and Nicola Gray.

Watch the full NetballNSWTV interview Taylah Davies below, where she also shares her rehab progress;

Congratulations Taylah!

Marj Groves AM Scholarship Recipients
2014       Taylah Davies – Sutherland Shire
2013       Taylah Davies – Sutherland Shire
2012       Kaitlyn Bryce – Sutherland Shire
2011       Paige Hadley – Penrith District
2010       Samantha Poolman –  Newcastle
2009       Nicola Gray – Manly Warringah
2008       Jessica Mansell – Sutherland Shire
2007       April Letton – Sutherland Shire