Kimberlee Green named NSW Athlete of the Year

Kimberlee Green was awarded NSW Athlete of the Year honours at last night’s 2015 New South Wales Sports Awards, leading the way for netball to claim three accolades at the celebratory dinner held by Sport NSW.

For 21 years, NSW Sports Awards has recognised leading athletes, teams, coaches, administrators, volunteers and organisations in New South Wales and celebrated their outstanding achievements in high performance and community sport levels.

Green, the first netballer to win the individual accolade, was successful amongst the high calibre field of nominees in the Athlete of the Year category which included finalists; Jessica Fox (Canoeing), Adam Goodes (AFL), Shane Rose (Equestrian), Steve Smith (Cricket) and Sam Stosur (Tennis).

The award acknowledges excellence on both a National and International level, for athletes residing in NSW, with Green captaining the NSW Swifts to the ANZ Championship Grand Final, and helping steer the Australian Diamonds to victory at Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015 to cap off a tremendous international career.

The event that drew the world’s attention to Sydney in August 2015, and highlighted the sport of netball on a global stage – the Netball World CUP SYDNEY 2015 (NWC2015), was crowned Event of the Year.

NWC2015 set a World Record for attendance at a netball match with 16,849 people attending the medal matches on Sunday 16 August 2015, with almost 100,000 spectators pouring into Sydney Olympic Park over the 10-day event.

Just weeks after being named Ku-ring-gai’s Woman of the Year, Brenda Williams was acknowledged with a Distinguished Long Service Award for her 55 years of service to the sport and Ku-ring-gai Netball Association.

The Anne Clark Service Award recipient (in 2000) has served as a coach, umpire, umpire’s convenor, vice president, treasurer, mentor and first patron of the organisation she has been an integral part of since Ku-ring-gai Netball Club (later Association) began in 1969.

Congratulations to all winners, and also to the following netball teams, organisations and individuals who were named as Finalists in their categories; the National Championship-winning NSW 19/U Team (Team of the Year), Rob Wright (Coach of the Year),  NSW Swifts (Team of the Year – National Professional Leagues), Marie Little OAM Shield Team (Team of the Year with a Disability), Sharon Kelly (Official of the Year), Megan Simpson (Administrator of the Year), Wendy Archer AM (Volunteer Director of the Year), Netball NSW (Organisation of the Year), Ku-ring-gai Netball Association (Inclusion/Diversity Award – Organisation).

For more go to