NSW athletes receive Aussie honours

14 Ellis shooting NSW 17U Team v WA

Netball NSW is proud to confirm eight representatives have been selected in the Australian 17/U squad following their performances at the 2016 National Netball Championships in Perth, WA last week (11-16 April).

Olivia Coleman (Randwick), Lucinda Drinan (Manly Warringah), Maddy Eaton (St George District), Demi Evans (Wyong), Tayla Fraser (Baulkham Hills Shire), Lil Gorman-Brown (Sutherland Shire), Shelby Mallon (Sutherland Shire) and Teigan O’Shannassy (Manly Warringah) have been included in the 36-strong squad.

The 17/U squad was finalised following the recent national titles played in Perth. They will attend a training camp at Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence between 19-22 May under the tutelage of Centre of Excellence head coach Jill McIntosh and Australian Diamonds coach Lisa Alexander.

Netball Australia National High Performance Pathway Manager Stacey West said the depth of midcourt talent in the 17/U age group “was quite exceptional” this year.

“There’s a lot of developing specialist wing attacks and some very strong defensive centres and we’re also delighted with the talent in the circle defenders among the squad of 36 that’s been named in this national development squad,” West said.

“These young athletes will have the opportunity to work with some of the country’s most experienced coaching and support staff at the Centre of Excellence in improving all aspects of their games.

“That will be very beneficial for their ongoing growth and development for the future.”

Coleman and O’Shannassy have also been invited to Netball Australia’s ‘Talls Camp’ along with NSW 19/U representatives Prudence Ellis (Blacktown City) and Alison Miller (Ku-ring-gai). The specialist camp will be held in two parts at Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra.

The 12 athletes selected as part of the specialist talls program will participate in two training camps in late June and November. The progress of those athletes will also be monitored by McIntosh and a coaching panel over the next 12 months.

“There’s a nice mix of athletes from across our three underage pathways chosen in this year’s intake that we look forward to seeing continue to take steps towards their long-term goals of becoming Australian Diamonds,” West said.

Congratulations to all NSW athletes who have been announced for Australian honours this morning.

2016 Australian 17/U Squad: Sienna Allen (SA), Sunday Aryang (WA), Chelsea Blackman (SA), Bridey Condren (QLD), Eliza Burton (ACT), Amber Clemesha (WA), Jacoba Clough (ACT), Gabrielle Coffey (NT), Olivia Coleman (NSW), Amelia Day (SA), Georgia Dent (SA), Lucinda Drinan (NSW), Tippah Dwan (QLD), Gabrielle Dwyer (VIC), Maddy Eaton (NSW), Demi Evans (NSW), Tayla Fraser (NSW), Sharon Freeman (VIC), Jada Gafa (QLD), Macy Gardner (QLD), Lili Gorman-Brown (NSW), Shenae Grant (QLD), Brianna Gregory (QLD), Kate Kelly-Oman (VIC), Shelby Mallon (NSW),  Hayley Mason (ACT), Alex Moody (VIC), Maisie Nankivell (SA), Teigan O’Shannassy (NSW), Elizabeth Paice (NT), Alkira Rodney (WA), Allie Smith (VIC), Jamie Symons (TAS), Alexandra Vinen (TAS), Mary Wilson (SA), Sarahpheinna Woulf (QLD).

Talls camp invitees: Amelia Brock (VIC), Olivia Coleman (NSW), Jane Cook (VIC), Prudence Ellis (NSW), Ashlen Garrett (QLD), Samantha Gooden (VIC), Annika Lee-Jones (WA), Isabella McDonald, (NT), Alison Miller (NSW), Lauren Mills (TAS), Teigan O’Shannassy (NSW), Alkira Rodney (WA).