Athletes selected for 2017 Australian Netball League

Netball NSW is pleased to confirm the athletes selected for the Netball NSW Waratahs to represent their State during the 2017 Australian Netball League (ANL).

Following the recent announcement of her returning as Head Coach, Briony Akle has named 10 athletes to represent NSW in the underpinning domestic elite netball competition which acts as a feeder for the Suncorp Super Netball.

Reigning ANL Most Valued Player Vanessa Mullampy will return to the Waratahs in 2017, alongside her 2016 teammates and ANL Runners-Up Georgia Marshall and Ashley Valeni. The trio will be joined by experienced ANL campaigner Nikki Deegenaars, along with midcourter Georgia M. Marshall and tall shooter Alison Miller.

After leading Scotland during the Netball World Cup 2015 SYDNEY, international defender Hayley Mulheron has been selected to make her NSW debut alongside three ANL debutants – Lili Gorman-Brown, Tayla Fraser and Olivia Coleman.

Akle said balance within the team is important for selectors, as well as providing young NSW athletes with the opportunity to test themselves on the bigger stages.

“I’m really excited to announce the Netball NSW Waratahs for 2017; I think we’ve selected a team of athletes who really complement each other and have experience on the ANL stage,” Akle said.

“It’s also really important for Netball NSW we continue to provide our younger athletes the opportunity to step up and experience netball on the big stage, so I’m really excited to see how Lili, Tayla and Olivia will go in learning from the players around them and taking their games to the next level.

“Obviously we came really close last year by getting to the Grand Final, and certainly that will provide motivation as we prepare for 2017. But we only have a handful of players returning from 2016 so for me it’s about ensuring the team gels together well, they are given the opportunity to write their own story, and hopefully we can go one better next year.

“It’s a really exciting time and from today all our focus will be on Round 1, so hopefully the NSW netball community can get behind us again as we try to do them proud in 2017.”

Netball Australia is yet to announce the 2017 ANL Fixture; stay tuned to Netball NSW digital channels for any ANL news in the near future.

As per competition rules, Suncorp Super Netball athletes and training partners will also be eligible to play in the ANL when available.

2017 Netball NSW Waratahs
Olivia Coleman (St George District)
Nikki Deegenaars (Manly Warringah)
Tayla Fraser (Baulkham Hills Shire)
Lili Gorman-Brown (Sutherland Shire)
Georgia Marshall (Manly Warringah)
Georgia M. Marshall (Eastwood Ryde)
Alison Miller (Ku-ring-gai)
Hayley Mulheron (Blacktown City)
Vanessa Mullampy (Penrith District)
Ashley Valeni (Sutherland Shire)
Head Coach: Briony Akle
Assistant Coach: Sonia Mkoloma
Apprentice Coach: Leonie Stewart-Weeks