Teams prepare for Inter-regional State League


Five teams representing regions from around New South Wales will congregate at the Anne Clark Centre this weekend, Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 September, to contest the inaugural 2013 GrainCorp Inter-Regional State League.

Netball NSW Regional Development Manager Nicole Bowles said it was great to be able to deliver a new competition to the regional communities.

“We listened to the feedback from our regional Associations about creating this next level of competition, so I’m really pleased we have been able to cater to that request by delivering the inaugural GrainCorp Inter-Regional State League this year,” Bowles said.

“I’d also like to extend a big thank you to our naming rights partner GrainCorp who have been such a big support to regional netball over the years; having them jump on board of this newly created competition is a huge support.”

“Finally Netball NSW would like to wish every participating Association the best of luck for the competition. We’re excited to get underway,” Bowles said.

The five competing Associations will participate in a round robin-style format on the first day of competition, before the Finals are held on the second day with a State Champion announced at the end of day’s play.

Introduced for season 2013, the Inter-Regional State League competition will be supported by GrainCorp, Proud Partner of Netball NSW.  The invitational competition was open to all Division One winners from each Regional State League to compete for the title of Netball NSW’s top regional team.

For the third consecutive year, GrainCorp also supported our regional communities as Netball NSW’s Major Event Partner and naming rights sponsor of the State League competitions in three regions; West/Central West, Northern Inland and Riverina, in addition to the Inter-Regional State League.

Stay tuned to Netball NSW’s social media channels to keep up-to-date with LIVE scores, photos, plus much more –,, and Instagram @netballnsw; Use #IRSL to join the conversation.

2013 GrainCorp Inter-Regional State League – Participating Teams
West/Central West – Orange
Far North Coast – Lismore
South Coast – Illawarra
Northern Inland – Glen Innes
North Coast – Coffs Harbour

2013 GrainCorp Inter-Regional State League – Fixtures Click Here to view Fixtures online

Orange Inter-Regional State League Team
Natalie Carthew
Shannen Downer
Tegan Dray
Sophia Kloosterman
Amanda Rouse
Sheryl Selwood
Erin Taylor
Nerelle Taylor
Danielle Turner
Kellie Watson
Lauren Williams
Head Coach: Sophie Beer
Assistant Coach:Trini Allen
Manager:Mardi Aplin

Lismore Inter-Regional State League Team
Melissa Bowley
Aimee Clarke
Nikki Connell
Shelley Fletcher
Laura Fry
Tamara Hamshaw
Makara Jacky
Alex Lee
Rene Lowbridge
Jess Thodey
Head Coach:Melissa Dundas

Illawarra Inter-Regional State League Team
Chelsea Bolton
Chloe Fryday
Hayley Golub
Kirra Jones
Abbey McFadden
Rachel Murphy
Hannah Prouten
Mackenzie Roberts
Emma Sylvester
Shaye Wilkinson
Head Coach:Elizabeth Osborne
Assistant Coach:Wendy Cook-Burrows
Manager: Ros Sulcs

Glen Innes Inter-Regional State League Team
Sharika Allen
Chloe Collett
Rosa Comi
Kirstie Fuller
Tayla Fuller
Chelsea Hindmarsh
Maddie Howard
Ash Monckton
Sophie Perkins
Head Coach: Julie Fuller

Coffs Harbour Inter-Regional State League Team
Sarah Bamford
Leah Brokmann
Natalee Brokmann
Tanya Hagley
Krystelle Harrison
Alison Schmidt
Hope Secomb
Amy Whiteley
Head Coach:Alison Egar
Manager: Jo Wiseman
Absent:Audrey Gilingham, Nicole Wilson, and Karen Mills (Coach) are unable to travel to Sydney to contest the Inter-Regional State League.