Hunter, Riverina and West/Central West 2015 Champions decided

The first 2015 Champions were crowned over the weekend, with Hunter Regional State League and GrainCorp Regional State Leagues – Riverina and West/Central West (WCW) all concluding on Sunday 29 March.

Newcastle 21s (Hunter Division 1), Wagga Wagga (Riverina) and Orange 1 (WCW Division 1) all took home the top division titles and will now be invited to participate in the 2015 GrainCorp Inter-Regional State League competition at Netball Central from Saturday 27 to Sunday 28 September to compete for the title of Inter-Regional Champion.

See how each Regional State League competition played out below…

GrainCorp Regional State League – West/Central West
Click here for full list of results

Orange 1 extended their winning run to 20 consecutive Division 1 titles with a convincing 37-goal victory over Runners-Up Dubbo at Orange PCYC over the weekend.

After finishing the regular rounds atop the ladder, Orange 1 met fourth-placed Cowra in the Semi Finals; a special mention to Cowra who qualified for the Finals Series in their debut Division 1 season.  With Orange 1 first to book their place in the Grand Final with a 63-26 victory, it was down to Dubbo and Bathurst 1 to decide their opponent.

Runners-Up Dubbo were in strong form, having only lost once during their regular rounds, and they made Bathurst 1 work hard in the contest.  By posting a 50-33 win, Dubbo set up a 2014 Grand Final rematch which would ultimately end with the same result.

Dubbo were able to reverse their Division 1 loss to come away as Division 2 victors with a five-goal Grand Final win over defending Champions Bathurst, whilst Orange and Cowra took home the newly-established Division 3 (17/U) and Division 4 (15/U) crowns.

2015 GrainCorp Regional State League - West Central West Div 1 Winners - Orange

2015 GrainCorp Regional State League – West/Central West Division 1 Winners – Orange

Division 1 Grand Final Orange (1) 66 d Dubbo 29
  1. Orange 1
  2. Dubbo
  3. Bathurst 1
  4. Cowra
  5. Orange 2
  6. Bathurst 2
Division 2 Grand Final Dubbo 48 d Bathurst 43
  1. Dubbo
  2. Bathurst
  3. Forbes
  4. Parkes
  5. Blayney
  6. Cowra
Division 3 (17/U) Grand Final Orange 28 d Bathurst 21
  1. Orange
  2. Bathurst
  3. Blayney
  4. Cowra
Division 4 (15/U) Grand Final Cowra 36 d Orange 17
  1. Cowra
  2. Orange
  3. Condobolin
  4. Lithgow




GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina
Click here for full list of results

It was a heart-stopping Grand Final in the Riverina which came down to the final moments, as Wagga Wagga got over the line in the dying seconds against Young to defend their 2014 title.

The intensity was ripe from the very first whistle, with the match played at a frenetic pace.  Young’s circle defenders were a standout with some impressive intercepts and vital deflections keeping their side in the match. However Wagga Wagga’s previous Finals experience helped them steady the ship.

With only 20 seconds left on the clock and scores tied at 27-goals apiece, Wagga Wagga found the post to clinch victory and their third consecutive GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina title.

GrainCorp Regional State League - Riverina winners Wagga Wagga

2015 GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina winners Wagga Wagga


Division 1 Grand Final Wagga Wagga 28 d Young 27
  1. Wagga Wagga
  2. Young
  3. AFL Riverina
  4. Barellan



Hunter Regional State League
Click here for full list of results

Newcastle 21s has defended their title to be crowned the 2015 Champions after overcoming Charlestown Opens by 18 goals in the Division 1 Grand Final.

The defending Champions never looked in doubt after hitting the lead early and building on the scoreboard buffer at each break. The result will now see Newcastle 21s invited to Sydney to defend their Inter-Regional Champions title after taking out the competition in 2014.

Wyong Opens claimed glory in Division 2, defeating Woy Woy Opens by 19-goals after Woy Woy were pushed until the very last minute of their hard-fought Semi Final victory over Nelson Bay Opens.

The Division 3 title decider was a see-sawing battle with 2014 Runners-Up Newcastle 15s finishing the second half in fine-form to claim victory over Westlakes 17s.  It was the 2015 Runners-Up who had the upper hand in the first half, holding a slim but handy two-goal buffer at the big break.

However Newcastle 15s followed on from their exciting one-goal Semi Final win with a fast-finishing second half to reverse last year’s Grand Final fortunes.

Division 4 saw Lakeside 15s claimed the title over Charlestown with a 7-goal victory after enjoying some breathing space in their earlier Semi Final with a 15-goal win over Hastings Valley 15s while Charlestown 15s were pushed in an exciting one-goal Semi Final result over Maitland 15s; whilst Charlestown 14s claimed the Division 5 title after Pool A and Pool B were combined for the Finals.

Meeting each other for the first time after playing in separate pools in the regular rounds, Lakeside 14s defeated Scone 15s and Charlestown 14s defeated Westlakes 15s to advance to the title-decider.

Hunter Regional State League Div 1 Winner - Newcastle 21s

2015 Hunter Regional State League Division 1 Winner – Newcastle 21s


Division 1 Grand Final Newcastle (21s) 47 d Charlestown Opens 29
Finalists Newcastle 21s
Charlestown Opens
Newcastle 17sWyong District 21s
Division 2 Grand Final Wyong Opens 58 d Woy Woy Opens 39
Finalists Wyong Opens
Woy Woy Opens
Nelson Bay OpensWestlakes Opens
Division 3 Grand Final Newcastle (15s) 43 d Westlakes (17s) 41
Finalists Newcastle 15s
Westlakes 17s
Charlestown 17sMaitlands17s
Division 4 Grand Final Lakeside (15s) 40 d Charlestown (15s) 33
Finalists Lakeside 15s
Charlestown 15s
Hastings Valley 15sMaitland 15s
Division 5 Grand Final Charlestown (14s) 31 d Lakeside (14s) 25
Finalists Charlestown 14s
Lakeside 14s
Scone 15sWestlakes 15s