South Coast, Hunter & Riverina action

There was mountains of Regional State League action over the weekend with the South Coast champions crowned, finalists decided in the GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina, and the Hunter competition getting underway.

Sapphire Coast was crowned Division One winners of the 2014 South Coast Regional State League on Sunday following two days of non-stop action in Canberra.

Sapphire Coast overcame spirited Runners-Up Queanbeyan to finish the competition undefeated, sealing victory with 57-20 in the decider.

As Division One winners, Sapphire Coast are invited to attend the second Inter-Regional State League competition in Sydney in September.

Queanbeyan went one better in Division Two, taking out the title over Eurobodalla in a tough grand final, 38-33.

It was not just the Division Two decider that was hotly contested with Southern Highlands and Ulladulla unable to be separated after extra time in the third place playoff, ending in a draw.
Click here to view the South Coast Fixture/Results

Wagga Wagga Opens, Wagga Wagga 17s, Griffith 17s and Young 21s will contest the 2014 GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina Finals as the top four teams following Day Two of play at Bolton Park Stadium on Sunday.

Wagga Wagga Opens finished the second day of competition with a clean sheet, undefeated after two days of action.

Wagga Wagga 17s also made it through Day Two without dropping a game, with just one loss incurred on Day One to their name thus far.

It was a tough battle for the last finals spot with Young 17s narrowly missing out to Young 21s, just one win separating the two teams at the end of the second day of play.

Wagga Wagga Opens will take on Wagga Wagga 17s in the Major Semi Final before Griffith 17s and Young 21s contest the Minor Semi Final as Finals get underway at Narrandera Sports Stadium on Sunday 30 March when the 2014 champions will be crowned.
Click here to view the Riverina Fixture/Results

The contest for the 2014 Hunter Regional State League title began on Sunday with teams competing in seven divisions at Charlestown.

A fantastic day of netball was briefly marred by a storm, but the skies cleared allowing play to continue!

Newcastle 21s topped the Division One table, undefeated after the opening day’s play with Charlestown hot on their heels with four wins, one loss, closely followed by Maitland, Newcastle 17s, Scone and Charlestown Opens, with only points differential separating fourth place through to sixth.

Nelson Bay Opens, Singleton Opens and Cessnock Opens are bunched at the top of the Division Two ladder, Newcastle and Kurri Kurri are undefeated to lead the way in Division Three and Four, respectively, while it is another close race at the top of the Division Five leader board between Woy Woy 15s and Westlakes 15s. Newcastle leads Lakeside and Singleton in Division Six and in Division Seven it is Maitland at the head of the pack.

Hunter Regional State League continues this weekend with Day Two action in Cessnock on Sunday 23 March.
Click here to view the Hunter Fixture/Results