Teams confirmed for Schools Cup Final

The final Schools Cup Regional Day has been contested with finalists from the eight regions now turning their attention to the inaugural Netball NSW Schools Cup State Final, to be held at the Anne Clark Centre on Wednesday 18 September.

The final Regional Day saw Wee Waa Public School crowned the inaugural Schools Cup Shield – Northern Inland winners, defeating Runners-Up Boggabri Public School to advance to the State decider.

Wee Waa plus the seven other regional winners will make the journey from their bases around New South Wales to represent their primary school and region for the coveted title.

The Netball NSW Schools Cup is a new initiative by Netball NSW to provide NSW primary school students in Years Five and Six with the opportunity to enjoy netball in a fun and safe environment.

With the first Local Day held in March of this year, Netball NSW Junior Development Coordinator Amy Quirk said she is excited the competition is reaching its finality.

“We are very excited for all the Regional winners to come down to the Anne Clark Centre, all representing their regions and schools, vying to be crowned the inaugural Schools Cup winners,” Quirk said.

“What separates the Netball NSW Schools Cup is the opportunity for public and private schools from around the State to contest against each other.  We also have teams coming in from border to border – from Albury to Casino – and everywhere in between.”

“We have seen some terrific netball played thus far and we are all looking forward to seeing great finals action to decide the 2013 Champion,” Quirk said.

The Schools Cup State Final will coincide with a massive week of regional netball in NSW, with the inaugural GrainCorp Inter-Regional State League also being contested at the Anne Clark Centre on Saturday 21 and Sunday 22 September.

“It will be a massive week of regional netball and Netball NSW.  Two inaugural competitions for 2013 finishing in the same week, treating NSW fans to some great netball,” Quirk said.

Congratulations to the following teams who will all be vying for the inaugural Schools Cup title.

Metropolitan: St Pauls Primary School – Camden
Hunter: Belair Public School
West/Central West: St Mary’s Primary School – Orange
Far North Coast: Casino West Public School
South Coast: Jerrabomberra Public School
Northern Inland: Wee Waa Public School
North Coast: Tacking Point Public School
Riverina: St Patricks Primary School – Albury

NOTE: final fixtures will be announced in due course.