Wagga Wagga crowned GrainCorp Champions

Wagga Wagga Opens have been crowned the 2014 GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina Champions after defeating their younger counterparts, Wagga Wagga 17s, 60-30 in the title decider at Narranderra Sports Stadium on Sunday 23 March.

The Grand Final was a repeat of the Major Semi Final, with Wagga Wagga Opens showing their strength across the court to overcome a spirited Wagga Wagga 17s, who trailed by just one goal at the first break.

Led by their prolific Goal Shooter Melissa Sykes, the Opens put their foot down from the second quarter with their defensive combinations shutting down the free space and movement of their younger 17s opposition.

With Sykes in great form, finding the post from all areas of the shooting circle, Wagga Wagga Opens put on a superb netball display to finish the competition undefeated.

Wagga Wagga 17s showed plenty of potential, playing with a maturity beyond their years, while Griffith 17s and Young 21s against contested strongly with strong performances in the Semi Finals.

The Riverina Champions will now be invited to take on other 2014 Regional Division One winners at the Netball NSW Inter-Regional State League competition, to be held in Sydney on 27-28 September to determine the ultimate Regional State League State Champion.

GrainCorp Regional State League – Riverina: Finals Results
Major Semi Final: Wagga Wagga Opens 45 d Wagga Wagga 17s 32
Minor Semi Final: Griffith 17s 57 d Young 21s 32
Preliminary Final: Wagga Wagga 17s 58 d Griffith 17s 30
Grand Final: Wagga Wagga Opens 60 d Wagga Wagga 17s 30
Click here to view the Fixture


State League action continued in the Hunter region with seven divisions finalising their top four heading into Finals this weekend, Sunday 6 April, at Port Stephens Netball Association.

Charlestown will have four teams contesting Finals, including their 21s side competing against Newcastle 21s, Maitland and Scone for the Division One title and opportunity to travel to Sydney for the 2014 Inter-Regional State League competition in September.

Newcastle has three sides in Finals contention, including their Division One team, as well as Maitland and Lakeside also having three teams each in contention, while hosts Port Stephens will be represented in Division Seven Finals.

The 2014 Finals Fixture will see the top-placed side in each division meet fourth in the first Semi Final, while second and third battle it out in the second Semi Final, with the winner of each progressing to the Grand Final.

Hunter Regional State League: Finals Fixtures
FINALS – Sunday 6 April, Port Stephens Netball Association
Division One
Semi Final 1: Charlestown 21s v Scone @ 10:30am
Semi Final 2: Newcastle 21s v Maitland @ 10:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 12:30pm

Division Two
Semi Final 1: Nelson Bay Opens v Lakeside 17s @ 9:30am
Semi Final 2: Singleton Opens v Cessnock Opens @ 9:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 11:30am

Division Three
Semi Final 1: Charlestown 17s v Woy Woy 17s @ 10:30am
Semi Final 2: Newcastle 15s v Lakeside 15s @ 10:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 12:30pm

Division Four
Semi Final 1: Muswellbrook 17s v Charlestown 15s @ 9:30am
Semi Final 2: Kurri Kurri v Nelson Bay 17s @ 9:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 11:30am

Division Five
Semi Final 1: Westlakes 15s v Maitland 15s @ 10:30am
Semi Final 2: Woy Woy 15s v Hasting Valley 15s @ 10:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 12:30pm

Division Six
Semi Final 1: Newcastle v Charlestown @ 9:30am
Semi Final 2: Lakeside v Singleton @ 9:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 11:30am

Division Seven
Semi Final 1: Maitland v Muswellbrook @ 10:30am
Semi Final 2: Westlakes v Port Stephens @ 10:30am
Grand Final: Winner SF 1 v Winner SF 2 @ 12:30pm
Click here to view the Fixture


Regional State League action got underway at North Coast on the weekend with Day One of the 2014 competition contested at Taree Netball Association.

Eight teams contested seven rounds in Division One, with Coffs Harbour Opens and Hastings Valley 21s sitting atop the ladder separated by goal differential.  They’re closely followed by Day One hosts Taree Opens and coincidentally, all top three teams were defeated by one another during first day’s play (Coffs Harbour Opens 20 d Hastings Valley 21s 14; Hastings Valley 21s 15 d Taree Opens 12; Taree Opens 24 d Coffs Harbour Opens 14).

In Division Two Nambucca Valley 17s leads the competition with three wins and are yet to drop a game.  They’re closely followed by Coffs Harbour 17s in second place who will have home ground advantage when the competition heads to their Vost Park netball courts for Day Two on Sunday 4 May.

North Coast Regional State League: Finals Fixtures
Day 2 – Sunday 4 May 2014, Coffs Harbour Netball Association
FINALS – Sunday 25 May, Hastings Valley Netball Association
Click here to view the Fixture