Regions prepare for inaugural Schools Cup State Final

There is just 10 days until eight teams from around the State converge on the Anne Clark Centre to contest the inaugural Netball NSW Schools Cup State Final on Wednesday 18 September.

The Schools Cup competition is a new initiative by Netball NSW in 2013 to provide New South Wales primary school students in Years Five and Six with the opportunity to enjoy netball in a fun and safe environment, while representing their school against other students the same age.

After advancing through the Local Days stage, eight Regional Winners will contest each other in a round robin style competition all vying to take home the inaugural Netball NSW Schools Cup State Champions title.

Netball NSW General Manager – Sport Development, Nikki Horton, said the excitement was building ahead of the final day of competition.

“It’s incredibly exciting that we are nearing the end of our very first Schools Cup competition.  We have seen some great displays of netball already and a huge response from the regional community, which is a real achievement in its maiden year,” Horton said.

“Netball NSW saw an opportunity to engage public and private schools from around NSW, as well as our younger netballers, to compete against one another – an opportunity they previously wouldn’t have had.  It’s also exciting that we will see teams from all corners of the State coming together.”

“I can’t wait to see the fantastic atmosphere that will be created at the Schools Cup State Final, and wish everyone involved the best of luck!” Horton concluded.

Teams from St Paul’s Primary School Camden, Belair Public School, St Mary’s Orange, Casino West Public School, Jerrabomberra Public School, Wee Waa Public School, Tacking Point Public School, and St Patrick’s Primary School Albury will represent their schools and regions at the State Final.

Road to Schools Cup State Final … results so far;

Region One: Sydney Metropolitan Schools Cup Shield – Metropolitan Regional Winners: St Pauls Primary School – Camden

Penrith Local Day Winner – Glossodia Public School, Glossodia Runners Up – William Clarke College, Kellyville

Northern Suburbs Local Day Winner – Harbord Public School, Freshwater Runners Up – St Rose Primary, Collaroy

Randwick Local Day Winner – St Aidan’s Primary School, Maroubra Runners Up – Emanuel School, Randwick

Liverpool Local Day Winner –  Newbridge Heights Public School, Chipping Norton Runners Up – St Paul’s Primary School, Camden

Region Two: Hunter Schools Cup Shield – Hunter Regional Winners: Belair Public School – Adamstown
Singleton Local Day Winner – Hunter Valley Grammar School, Maitland Runners Up – Singleton Public School, Singleton
Charlestown Local Day Winner/s – Jewells Primary School, Jewells and Mark Point Public School, Mark Point

Gosford Local Day Winner – Point Clare Public School, Point Clare Runners Up – Holy Cross Primary School, Kincumber

Newcastle Local Day Winner – Belair Public School, Adamstown Runners Up – Tenambit Primary School, Tenambit

Region Three: West/Central West Schools Cup Shield – West/Central West regional Winners: St Mary’s Primary School – Orange
Dubbo Local Day Winner – St John’s Primary School, Trangie Runners Up – St John’s Primary School, Cobar

Forbes Local Day Winner –- Mulyan Public School, Cowra Runners Up – Forbes Public School, Forbes

Coonabarabran Local Day Winner – St Brigid’s School, Coonamble Runners Up – Dunedoo Central School, Dunedoo

Bathurst Local Day Winner – St Marys Catholic Primary School, Orange Runners up – Catherine McAuley, Orange

Region Four: Far North Coast Schools Cup Shield – Far North Coast Regional Winner: Casino West Public School – Casino

Lismore Local Day Winner – Casino West Public, Casino Runners Up – St Carthage’s Primary School, Lismore

Brunswick/Byron Local Day Winner – St Joseph’s Primary School, Tweed Heads Runners Up – Cape Byron Rudolf Steiner, Ewingsdale

Region Five: South Coast Schools Cup Shield – South Coast Regional Winner: Jerrabomberra Public School – Jerrabomberra
Nowra Local Day Winner – Nowra Christian School, South Nowra Runners Up – Unanderra Public School, Cordeaux Heights

Queanbeyan Local Day Winner – Bombala Public School, Bombala Runners Up – Queanbeyan Public School, Queanbeyan

Burradoo Local Day Winners – Bowral Public School, Bowral Runners Up – Moss Vale Public School, Moss Vale

Broulee Local Day Winners – St Peters Anglican College, Broulee Runners Up – Jerrabomberra Public School, Jerrabomberra

Region Six: Northern Inland Schools Cup Shield – Northern Inland Regional Winner: Wee Waa Public School – Wee Waa

Inverell Local Day Winner – Holy Trinity School, Inverell

Gunnedah Local Day Winner – Wee Waa Public School, Wee Waa Runners up – Boggabri Public School, Boggabri

Region Seven: North Coast Schools Cup Shield – North Coast Regional Winner: Tacking Point Public School – Port Macquarie

Port Macquarie Local Day Winner – Tacking Point Public School, Port Macquarie Runners Up – Wauchope Public School, Wauchope

Taree Local Day Winner – St Joseph’s Primary School, Taree Runners Up – Manning Valley Anglican College, Cundletown

Kempsey Local Day Winner – Telegraph Point Public School, Telegraph Point Runners Up – Eungai Public School, Eungai Creek

Coffs Harbour Local Day Winner – Woolgoolga Public School, Woolgoolga Runners Up – Bowraville Public School, Bowraville

Region Eight: Riverina Schools Cup Shield – Riverina Regional Winner: St Patricks Primary School – Albury

Tumut Local Day Winner – Franklin Public School, Tumut Runners Up – Gundagai Public School, Gundagai

Young Local Day Winner – St Anne’s Central School, Temora Runners Up – Young North Public School

Wagga Wagga Local Day Winner – St Patricks Primary School, Albury Runners Up – St Joseph’s Primary School, Wagga Wagga