Stage is set for State Champs

One of the hallmark events on the Netball NSW calendar, the Samsung State Championships returns this weekend, 10-12 June, at Baulkham Hills Shire Netball Association, and we couldn’t be more excited to greet the thousands of visitors travelling across the State for the event!

This year will mark the 49th instalment of the Netball NSW State Championships, seeing 103 teams representing 69 Associations travel from all around the State to participate in three days of back-to-back netball action.

The 2017 tournament will see six age-divisions in action; two Open divisions (Championship and Division Two), 21/U Championship, and three 17/U divisions (Championship, Division Two and Division Three) – for more information please see the 2017 State Championships Official Program.

For Fans and participants looking to keep up-to-date with the competition, Netball NSW recommends you keep a close eye on our 2017 State Championships page! There you can find all the fixtures and results, as well as a list of useful information to ensure your weekend is fun and carefree. Why not follow Netball NSW’s social media accounts as well – there you can see highlights from across the weekend.

The title of State Champions isn’t the only trophy up for grabs with the Pat Weston OAM Country Champions Cup also on the line.

Introduced in 2009, the Cup is named in honour of Netball NSW and Parramatta Auburn Life Member Pat Weston OAM, and is awarded to the highest placed regional Association (outside Sydney Metro) in the Open Championship division.

After deciding to trial splitting the Masters Division to a separate weekend in 2016, we have again seen the Bing Lee State Championships – Masters held earlier this year to great success. Congratulations to our 2017 State Champions, who were crowned in May at the Genea Netball Centre – State Masters Over 30’s Manly Warringah & State Masters Over 40’s Gosford.

Netball NSW would like to thank Samsung for being the Naming Rights Partner of the 2017 Netball NSW State Championships, as well as our Major Partners – the Australian College of Physical Education (ACPE), BBX, Bioglan and The Athletes’ Foot.

Good luck to everyone involved!