Northern Suburbs win inaugural State Cup title

Northern Suburbs State Cup winners 2016

Northern Suburbs have been crowned the inaugural Netball NSW State Cup champions after a 25-10 win over Manly Warringah in the Grand Final at Netball Central on Sunday 25 September.

The State Cup, which brings the best Metro and Regional teams in New South Wales together, was setup to determine the State’s best Association in the Opens age category.

Teams from the 2016 DOOLEYS Metro League and Regional League Competitions were invited. In all, 118 athletes and 24 umpires took part in what was an action-packed weekend at the home of Netball NSW.

While competition crowned the State champions, the highest ranked Regional Association at the conclusion of the weekend was declared the Inter-Regional State champion. And after some fine play, Netball NSW is delighted to announce that Newcastle have been crowned Inter-Regional champions for 2017 – the third time in a row they’ve taken the title out.

“It has been a fantastic weekend at Netball Central and I would like to congratulate and thank each Association, players and coaches which contested the 2016 State Cup,” Netball NSW board member Carol Murphy said.

“I would also like to thank the umpires, bench officials and Netball NSW staff for putting on a wonderful event.

“This has been the inaugural hosting of what we hope will be another hugely successful annual calendar event for Netball NSW, and it’s fantastic to see so many athletes from all over the State compete with such talent, passion and sportsmanship.

“As always, these occasions are about more than just netball and it was great to see so much laughter and smiles out on the courts, and our competitors having a boogie to some of the tunes on offer.”

For more information on please visit our dedicated Netball NSW State Cup page.



Championship Division 

1. Northern Suburbs – Championship Division Winner
2. Manly Warringah – Championship Division Runner Up
3. Baulkham Hills
4. Newcastle – Inter-Regional Winner
5. Sutherland Shire
6. Orange

Plate Division

7. Inner Western Suburbs – Plate Division Winner
8 Quirinidi – Plate Division Runner up
9 Hastings Valley
10 Grafton
11 City of Sydney