Teams ready for State Cup

It’s been a big week of Netball NSW competitions and it’s set to continue this weekend with some of the best regional and metro talent coming together at Genea Netball Centre for the 2017 State Cup!

Nine teams from across the State will take to the courts this Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 September, to determine the State’s best Association in the Opens age category.

From Queanbeyan in the south, to Lismore in the north; Bathurst, Hastings Valley and Newcastle will all travel from their regional bases to meet Sydney Metro teams Baulkham Hills Shire, Inner Western Suburbs, Northern Suburbs and Sutherland Shire in the round-robin tournament.

And while the competition will crown a State Cup Champions, the highest ranked Regional team at the conclusion of the weekend will also be declared the Inter-Regional State Champion!

“Netball NSW is excited to host all nine State Cup teams this weekend at Genea Netball Centre,” Competitions Manager, Claire Dale said.

“We’re particularly looking forward to welcoming our regional teams, as it’s a rare occasion when we can watch them in action. We really appreciate them making the long journey to Sydney, and hope they – and our Metro teams – all have a great weekend.

“Also a big thank you to the coaches, umpires and officials who will be helping to run this weekend. We couldn’t hold a competition without them, so appreciate their efforts.

“Finally, good luck to all the State Cup participants. We’re looking forward to another great weekend of netball!”

This weekend will be the second year the State Cup competition will be held, after being introduced in 2016. Both inaugural Champions – Northern Suburbs (State Cup Champions) and Newcastle (Inter-Regional Champions) – will be returning this weekend to defend their 2016 titles.

2017 State Cup | Teams

Bathurst (West/Central West)
Baulkham Hills Shire (Sydney Metro)
Hastings Valley (North Coast)
Inner Western Suburbs (Sydney Metro)
Lismore (Far North Coast)
Newcastle (Hunter)
Northern Suburbs (Sydney Metro)
Queanbeyan (South Coast)
Sutherland Shire (Sydney Metro)