2014 NSW 17/U athletes named for Final Phase

Thirty-two athletes have been selected to advance to the final stage of selection for the 2014 NSW 17/U team and 17/U Development team following Phase II trials at the Anne Clark Centre on Sunday 24 November.

Netball NSW General Manager – High Performance Tracey Fear stated NSW Selectors continue to be impressed by the extraordinary depth of talent within this age group.

“We are excited by the quality and quantity of the athletes vying for selection in the NSW 17/U teams, which is reflected by the number of players we have chosen to progress to the Final Phase of selection,” Fear said.

“I would like to congratulate all those athletes who have trialled for 2014 NSW 17/U selection this year.  The Selectors have been overwhelmed by the standard coming through our pathway, and we look forward to monitoring their progress over the next few years.”

These final 32 athletes will be joined by a further eight athletes that were granted a medical exemption from attending Phase II trials.  The combined 40 athletes will participate in a training day on Sunday 8 December, with the Final Phase of selection to occur on Saturday 25 January 2014.

The NSW 17/U team to compete at 2014 National Netball Championships as well as the NSW 17/U Development team will be announced following the Final Phase of trials.

Congratulations to the following athletes who progress to the next phase of 2014 NSW 17/U selection;
Madeline ANDERSON – WSAS (Baulkham Hills)
Kiera AUSTIN – SNA (Eastwood Ryde)
Amelia BASHEER – SNA (Manly-Warringah)
Chelsea BOLTON* – IAS (Illawarra)
Emily CHADWICK – WSAS (Baulkham Hills)
Chloe CHAPMAN (Randwick)
Meg COLLINS – SSA (AFL Riverina)
Olivia DUFFY – CCAS (Wyong)
Prudence ELLIS* – SNA (Ku-ring-gai)
Bridgette EVANS* – (Randwick)
Brooke FENNINGS – HAS (Charlestown)
Masani FRANCIS – SWSAS (Liverpool City)
Angelina FRKETIC – WSAS (Liverpool City)
Leanne GREVENITZ – CCAS (Wyong)
Laura HENDERSON – SWSAS (Sutherland Shire)
Sally HUNTER – SSA (Hume)
Kirra JONES – IAS (Illawarra)
Veronika JUKIC (Eastwood Ryde)
Kristen KESSLER – CCAS (Wyong)
Olivia LENNON* – SNA (Sutherland Shire)
Cristina LINAKER – (Manly Warringah)
Madeleine McCATHIE* – SNA (Randwick)
Marissa MENTIS – WSAS (Manly-Warringah)
Lauren MOORE – CCAS (Wyong)
Claire O’BRIEN – SNA (St George)
Megan O’KEEFFE* – WSAS (Baulkham Hills)
Amy PARMENTER – SNA (Randwick)
Braeden QUINCE – SNA (Sutherland Shire)
Cassandra RADFORD – SNA (Sutherland Shire)
Natasha ROBARDS – HAS (Ku-ring-gai)
Mackenzie ROBERTS* – IAS (Illawarra)
Olivia ROWNTREE – SWSAS (Liverpool City)
Kelly SINGLETON – SNA (Manly-Warringah)
Loren SINGLETON – WSAS (Baulkham Hills)
Rebekah SMITH* – SNA (Eastwood Ryde)
Jazmin TWEDDLE O’DONNELL – IAS (Sutherland Shire)
Mikayla UPTON – HAS (Muswellbrook)
Sharece WILLIS – HAS (Newcastle)
Georgina WOODS – SNA (Northern Suburbs)
Zoe YANZ – WSAS (Parramatta Auburn)
* Players granted a medical exemption from attending Phase II.
Academy of Sport Acronyms:
CCAS – Central Coast Academy of Sport
FWAS – Far West Academy of Sport
HAS – Hunter Academy of Sport
IAS – Illawarra Academy of Sport
NCAS – North Coast Academy of Sport
SNA – Sydney Netball Academy
SSA – Southern Sports Academy
SWSAS – South West Sydney Academy of Sport
WRAS – Western Region Academy of Sport
WSAS – Western Sydney Academy of Sport