2014 NSW 17/U Team Announced

Netball NSW has confirmed the players who will represent NSW at the 2014 17/U National Netball Championships in Melbourne.

Head Coach Moira Gaha will lead a new-look side for 2014 with 11 athletes making their Nationals debut; Sutherland Shire defender Cassandra Radford returns from last year’s 17/U team that finished in third place after defeating South Australia, 36-22, in the playoff.

While announcing the 12 athletes who will run out for NSW during the Nationals tournament this year, Netball NSW has also selected a further 14 players who will make up the 2014 NSW 17/U Development Squad.

Introduced this year, the 17/U Development Squad will have an identical training schedule with their 17/U counterparts, which will culminate in a two game fixture against one of the top secondary school teams in New Zealand, St Margaret’s High School, on Thursday 17 April at the Anne Clark Centre, Lidcombe.

On making the 2014 NSW 17/U Team and 17/U Development Squad announcements, Netball NSW General Manager – High Performance Tracey Fear said it was pleasing to see so many players make the step up from Academy to State level.

“It’s fantastic to see the depth of talent at this level, which made selecting the final 12 that will compete at Nationals in Melbourne an extremely difficult task.  There is clearly some great work happening in the Regional Academies with six of the 12 selected coming out of the Central Coast, Illawarra and Hunter Academies,” Fear said.

“The players chosen are all at the start of their State career and we were really pleased with the work ethic and fitness levels presented at the final trial from a large number of the players, and are looking forward to seeing them fulfil their potential over the next few years.

“We have seen some very good players miss out on State selection because of the quality of this age group, and there will be a real benefit in those athletes being part of the 17/U Development Squad program.

“The focus of this side is on individual development and we fully expect that these players will come back stronger next year.  All have been identified as players for the future and we look forward to seeing them push hard for selection in both NSW 17/U and 19/U State trials in 2015.”

“The depth of this 17/U playing group is very exciting for Netball NSW as we look towards growing our talent base for our future,” Fear concluded.

The 2014 17/U National Netball Championships will be held at Waverley Netball Centre in Melbourne from Monday 7 to Saturday 12 April.

2014 NSW 17/U Team
Kiera Austin – SNA (Eastwood Ryde)
Chelsea Bolton – IAS (Illawarra)
Prudence Ellis – SNA (Ku-ring-gai)
Brooke Fennings – HAS (Charlestown)
Leanne Grevenitz – CCAS (Wyong)
Kirra Jones – IAS (Illawarra)
Kristin Kessler – CCAS (Wyong)
Lauren Moore – CCAS (Wyong)
Claire O’Brien – SNA (St George)
Amy Parmenter – SNA (Randwick)
Cassandra Radford – SNA (Sutherland Shire)
Loren Singleton – WSAS (Baulkham Hills)
Head Coach: Moira Gaha
Assistant Coach: Amber Cross
Manager: Deborah Kassing
Physiotherapist: Emily Boulton Smith

2014 NSW 17/U Development Squad
Madeline Anderson* – WSAS (Baulkham Hills)
Amelia Basheer – SNA (Manly-Warringah)
Chloe Chapman (Randwick)
Meg Collins – SSA (AFL Riverina)
Olivia Duffy – CCAS (Wyong)
Laura Henderson – SWSAS (Sutherland Shire)
Sally Hunter – SSA (Hume)
Madeleine McCathie – SNA (Randwick)
Braedan Quince – SNA (Sutherland Shire)
Natasha Robards – HAS (Ku-ring-gai)
Olivia Rowntree – SWSAS (Liverpool City)
Kelly Singleton – SNA (Manly-Warringah)
Mikayla Upton – HAS (Muswellbrook)
Georgina Woods – SNA (Northern Suburbs)
Head Coach: Leonie Stewart-Weeks
Assistant Coaches: Pate Cooper and Jaqua Heddle
Manager: Charlene Sommerville

Academy of Sport Acronyms: 
CCAS – Central Coast Academy of Sport
HAS – Hunter Academy of Sport
IAS – Illawarra Academy of Sport
SNA – Sydney Netball Academy
SSA – Southern Sports Academy
SWSAS – South West Sydney Academy of Sport
WSAS – Western Sydney Academy of Sport

* On 31 January Madeline Anderson was selected into the 17/U Development Squad in place of Cristina Linaker who withdrew for personal reasons.