2014 NSW 19/U athletes named for Phase II

Thirty athletes have been selected to advance to Phase II of selection for the 2014 NSW 19/U team following the first day of trials at the Anne Clark Centre on Saturday 23 November.

Netball NSW General Manager – High Performance Tracey Fear stated NSW Selectors were pleased to see more players trialling for next year’s NSW 19/U team.

“The thirty players chosen to progress earned selection through their performances at intense trials held on Saturday,“ Fear explained.

“As we saw with the NSW 17/U trials earlier this month, a large number of players selected for the next phase of 19/U selection are either current or former members of an Academy program.  This trend is a reflection of work being undertaken at both Association and Academy levels to develop talent.”

These thirty athletes will participate in a training day on Sunday 8 December, with the Final Phase of selection to occur on Saturday 25 January 2014. The NSW 19/U team to compete at 2014 National Netball Championships will be announced following the Final Phase of trials.

Congratulations to the following athletes who progress to the next phase of 2014 NSW 19/U selection;

Toni ANDERSON – NSWIS (Sutherland Shire)
Victoria AOAKE (Newcastle)
Brittany BERRY – SWSAS (Camden)
Alisha CAIRNS – WSAS (Blacktown)
Jordyn CHUE – SNA (Ku-ring-gai)
Olivia DOYLE (Baulkham Hills)
Natalie ELDRIDGE – SNA (St George)
Tayla ERVINE (Blacktown City)
Lauren FORNASARO – SNA (Hills District)
Bronte FRY (Manly-Warringah)
Zoe GILBERT – NSWIS (Manly-Warringah)
Billie GURR – NSWIS (Manly-Warringah)
Kodee HEDDLE – SWSAS (St George)
Sarah JAMIESON – SNA (Ku-ring-gai)
Charlotte JASPRIZZA – NSWIS (Orange)
Sarah KITCHER* – NCAS (Grafton)
Stephanie MACGOUGAN – Eastwood Ryde
Gloria MASIASOMUA* – NSWIS (Liverpool City)
Elyssa PIERCE* – NSWIS (Sutherland Shire)
Courtney RICHMOND – WSAS (Blacktown)
Jade RILEY – SWSAS (Liverpool City)
Sophie SCHETOR – IAS (Illawarra)
Leilani SOLI – HAS (City of Sydney)
Tanisha STANTON – NSWIS (Eastwood Ryde)
Natasha STRACHAN – WSAS (Hills District)
Kara STYLES – SWSAS (St George)
Peti TALANOA (Penrith)
Alyssa WALKER (Wyong)
Madeline WOODS (Sutherland Shire)
Lauren YAGER – NSWIS (Sutherland Shire)
* Exemption for Phase 1 on medical grounds
Academy of Sport Acronyms:
CCAS – Central Coast Academy of Sport
FWAS – Far West Academy of Sport
HAS – Hunter Academy of Sport
IAS – Illawarra Academy of Sport
NCAS – North Coast Academy of Sport
SNA – Sydney Netball Academy
SSA – Southern Sports Academy
SWSAS – South West Sydney Academy of Sport
WRAS – Western Region Academy of Sport
WSAS – Western Sydney Academy of Sport