2019 State Teams named for Nationals

Netball NSW is delighted to announce that the following players have been selected to represent New South Wales at the 2019 National Netball Championships in Brisbane.

After a long selection process, where selectors visited both regional and metro regions of NSW, two squads of 12 players have been chosen to represent the state’s 17/U and 19/U teams.

The National Netball Championships provide Australia’s best young netballers the chance to represent their respective state or territory – a fantastic pathway opportunity for athlete exposure and talent identification.

Down the years the Championships have proven to be a crucial stepping stone to both the Suncorp Super Netball and international stages of the game.

This year sees players selected from regional areas such as Orange, Wagga Wagga, Newcastle, Lismore and Gosford, as well as a host of metro areas.

Netball NSW Head of Netball Nikki Horton said she was delighted with the standard on show throughout the trial process and wished the squads, and their coaches, the best for 2019.

“I think the selection process is always a long and difficult one, mainly because there are so many great players hoping to wear the NSW dress,” she said.

“Our selectors have been hard at work in both regional and metro areas to find the best talent and I think they have done an amazing job.

“The Nationals is where many NSW Swifts and GIANTS start out, as well as Australian Diamonds, so making our 17/U and 19/U Teams is a huge achievement for every one of these athletes.

“I would like to wish both teams the best as they start the preparation process for the 2019 Nationals in Queensland, we’ll be there ready to cheer them on.”

The 2019 National Netball Championships take place from Wednesday to Tuesday, 10-16 April, at Brisbane’s Netball Centre.

2019 NSW 17/U Team

Alexandria Emerson Orange
Amy Sligar Camden & District
Annalise Chadrawy Illawarra District
Audrey Little Manly Warringah
Brooke Paterson Randwick
Chelsea Mann Manly Warringah
Jessica Conlan Barellan & District
Matisse Letherbarrow Baulkham Hills Shire
Millie Roach Ku-ring-gai
Natalie Sligar Camden & District
Selene Chadrawy Illawarra District
Sophie Fawns Wagga Wagga


Head Coach: Amber Cross (Wyong District),
Assistant Coach: Nardia MacDonald (Baulkham Hills Shire)
Apprentice Coach: Sally Cain (Hawkesbury City)
Manager: Jenny Gage-Traill (Northern Suburbs)
Physios: Alice Brown, Jessica Harrison.

2019 NSW 19/U Team

Annie Miller Manly Warringah
Clare Iongi Inner Western Suburbs
Jazmyn Rodwell Gosford
Latika Tombs Manly Warringah
Lauren Woods Blacktown City
Leilani Rohweder Lismore & District
Luana Aukafolau Eastwood Ryde
Maddy Eaton Sutherland Shire
Matilda McDonell St George District
Nakita Jackson Newcastle
Rhiannon Stokes Newcastle
Sophie Dwyer Eastwood Ryde

Head Coach:
Nerida Stewart (Gosford)
Assistant Coach: Marjorie Parr (Illawarra District)
Apprentice Coach: Alison Tucker (Randwick)
Manager: Marianne Mccormick (Orange)
Physios: Adrian Tocchet, Melanie Tri.