Netball NSW announces 2013 Marie Little Shield team

Netball NSW is proud to announce the players selected in the 2013 Netball NSW Marie Little Shield team, who will participate in a round-robin competition which showcases athletes with an intellectual disability from around the nation.

The team is made up of 10 athletes with an intellectual disability who will take part in the competition, jointly operated by Netball Australia and Netball NSW, to be played at the Anne Clark Centre on Sunday 18 August. This event will coincide with Netball NSW hosting Round 7 of the Australian National League (ANL).

The team will be led by Jenny O’Keefe, an Advance Accredited coach who was recently announced as the Netball NSW Blues Assistant Coach and has been involved with the Manly-Warringah Netball Association for many years.

O’Keefe will be assisted by Annie Collins at Assistant Coach and Ellen Monaghan as Team Manager.  Collins recently was awarded her Intermediate Coached Accreditation, while Monaghan has over 25 years experience working with netballers with a disability at Newcastle Netball Association and is extremely passionate about creating opportunities for People with Disability (PWD).

Netball NSW Community Engagement Manager Kristy Guthrie says the organisation jumped at the opportunity to be involved in the Marie Little Shield.

“This is the second year the Marie Little Shield has been contested after the competition was held in Adelaide during last year’s ANL … we were thrilled when approached by Netball Australia to assist in running it for this season,” Guthrie said.

“Netball NSW is committed to providing equal opportunities to players of all abilities. The inclusion of the Marie Little Shield is a fantastic event to showcase our commitment and the skill of those in our community with an intellectual disability.”

Congratulations to the athletes selected in the 2013 Netball NSW Marie Little Shield Team, and best of luck for the competition!

2013 Netball NSW Marie Little Shield Team
Dallas Austin
Annelise Baker
Danielle Burns
Tara Daniels
Rebel Ervasti
Sarah Jayne Forrest
Melissa Gallagher
Rebecca Harvey
Nicole Simpson
Uriah Weston
Head Coach: Jenny O’Keefe
Assistant Coach: Annie Collins
Manager: Ellen Monaghan