2010 Final Placing: 2nd

The Netball NSW Waratahs fought gallantly but were ultimately unable to deny Victorian Fury the crown, losing 54–47 in the Grand Final but claiming second place in the 2010 New Idea ANL, the highest finish by a NSW team in the three-year history of the competition.

The NNSW Waratahs finished the regular season as minor premiers after dropping only one game all season, and in doing so, became the first NSW team to qualify for the ANL finals.

The NNSW Waratahs opened 2010 with a 55–45 victory over their eventual conquerors, Fury, becoming the first team to defeat Fury in the history of the ANL. The NNSW Waratahs’ skilled defence, sharp passing and shooting performance got them over the line in this furiously-paced encounter.

In Round 2 the NSW team was dominant across the court as they cruised to a 14-goal win over the Territory Storm. The NNSW Waratahs and AIS were evenly matched but the Institute established a small advantage early. The NNSW Waratahs levelled but a miss on their final goal attempt allowed the AIS to take victory by one.

Next, the NNSW Waratahs took the honours in a local derby over the Blues and followed it up with a 60–29 win over the Canberra Darters. Unfortunately, GA Joanne Day suffered a knee injury against the Darters and was ruled out for the remainder of the season; Carla Dziwoki was brought in to replace her.

In a Round 5 triple-header the NNSW Waratahs were tested, heading to Queensland for two games before returning for a match at home, and they secured their biggest win of the season at the end of the weekend trouncing Singapore, 91-19.

The NNSW Waratahs marched into the finals with a 58-45 win over South Australia and a comfortable 60–36 triumph over the Tassie Spirit to take out the minor premiership.

Upon meeting their ’bogey’ team in the Semi Finals, the NNSW Waratahs ensured the result would not be a repeat of the earlier meeting. The AIS challenged the NNSW Waratahs in the opening half but the work of the NNSW Waratahs’ defence, combined with the accuracy of shooters Dziwoki and Amy Wild, allowed NSW to secure a Grand Final berth.

Unfortunately the NNSW Waratahs were unable to reproduce the same result against the Fury in the decider; the Victorians’ defensive pressure combated the NNSW Waratahs’ defensive efforts and accurate shooting as they forced turnovers and got the better of the NNSW Waratahs on the day.


Round 1:
Waratahs 55 def Victorian Fury 45
Round 2:
Waratahs 55 def Territory Storm 41
Waratahs 45 lost to AIS 46
Round 3:
Waratahs 64 def Netball NSW Blues 35
Round 4:
Waratahs 60 def Canberra Darters 29
Round 5:
Waratahs 46 def Queensland Fusion 42
Waratahs 62 def Western Australia 44
Waratahs 91 def Singapore 19
Round 6:
Waratahs 58 def Western Australia 45
Waratahs 60 def Tassie Spirit 36
Semi Final:
Waratahs 54 def AIS 38
Grand Final:
Waratahs 47 lost to Victorian Fury 54

Netball NSW Waratahs
Amy Wild, Sutherland
Joanne Day, Eastwood Ryde
Sally Cain, Eastwood Ryde
Melissa Tallent, Sutherland Shire
Ashleigh Brazill, Eastwood Ryde
Kasey Ledbrook, St George
Kristy Durheim, Manly Warringah
Nicole Deegenaars, Manly Warringah
Samantha May, St George
Jessica Mansell, Eastwood Ryde
Hannah Hauser, Manly Warringah
Elly Willan, Manly Warringah

Robert Wright, Coach
Anita Keelan, Assistant Coach
Michele Murphy, Manager
Paula Peralta, Physiotherapist