Netball NSW Waratahs selected for new-look Australian Netball League

Netball NSW is proud to announce the athletes selected to represent New South Wales in the 2016 Australian Netball League (ANL), which has a revamped structure bringing closer alignment to the elite pathways of the ANZ Championship for the national talent pool.

The 2016 Netball NSW (NNSW) Waratahs for the eight-week competition feature an even balance of new and returning athletes – Kiera Austin, Jessica Calderara, Kim Commane (nee Borger), Taylah Davies, Madeline Hay and Emily Keenan all returning from the 2015 campaign. The new talent to the side includes five athletes that boast previous ANL experience with Toni Anderson, Vanessa Mullampy, Claire O’Brien, Ama Agbeze, Alison Miller and Teigan O’Shannassy set to make their NNSW Waratahs debuts.

Head Coach Briony Akle is thrilled at the appointment of the athletes which she feels brings a great blend of strengths across the team.

“The side has a mix of older and more experienced netballers, accompanied by fantastic youth, drive and enthusiasm”, said Akle when asked about the team composition.
“Looking ahead, it is really exciting for our playing group as the talent available, knowledge of the athletes and support team are all in place for a great season”.
The ANL has a new-look structure for the 2016 season, with the introduction of double-headers with ANZ Championship matches as part of a new alignment with the world’s premier netball competition.

This restructure also allows for up to five contracted 2016 ANZ Championship players to be named on the Team list for any ANL match. However athletes will not be eligible to play in both the ANZ Championship and ANL matches on the weekend of 2016 ANL Finals.

Additionally, ANL teams linked to an Australian ANZ Championship franchise can nominate 12 non-ANZ Championship contracted athletes and will be permitted to play a maximum of one athlete in an ANL match who is ineligible for selection in Australian national teams and squads.

The NNSW Waratahs will travel to Brisbane taking on Queensland Fusion in their opening match of the season with the competition to commence on the weekend of 30 April – 1 May, 2016 – Full schedule.

2016 Netball NSW Waratahs ANL squad
(Listed as – Name – Association – Premier League Club)
Ama AGBEZE* – Kuring-Gai – North Shore United
Toni ANDERSON – Sutherland Shire – Sutherland Stingrays
Kiera AUSTIN – Eastwood Ryde – ERNA Hawks
Jessica CALDERARA – Eastwood Ryde – ERNA Hawks
Kim COMMANE (nee Borger) – St George District – UTS St George Sparks
Taylah DAVIES – Eastwood Ryde – ERNA Hawks
Madeline HAY – Sutherland Shire – Sutherland Stingrays
Emily KEENAN – Eastwood Ryde – ERNA Hawks
Alison MILLER – Wagga Wagga – North Shore United
Vanessa MULLAMPY – Penrith District – Panthers
Claire O’BRIEN – St George District – UTS St George Sparks
Teigan O’SHANNASSY – Manly Warringah – Manly Sapphires
*Denotes Import Player

2016 Netball NSW Waratahs Coaching and Support Staff
Head Coach – Briony Akle
Assistant Coach – Sonia Mkoloma
Team Manager – Mardi Alpin
Lead Physiotherapist – Yves Silveira
Assistant Physiotherapist – Gemma Vale