For the first time in national netball history all three age divisions, 17 & Under, 19 & Under and 21 & Under will be played at one tournament – with all 36 state team stars representing New South Wales from 1 – 9 April 2008.

2008 National Netball Championships
Proudly sponsored by The Athletes’ Foot 1 – 9 April 2008 Challenge Stadium, Perth Western Australia

17 & Under matches began Tuesday 1 April and concluded with the a nail-biting between NSW and Victoria on Saturday 5 April.

The opening match for the NSW 17 & Under team played against Western Australia, the host side, which NSW won 39-19.

1/4 NSW 39 def WA 19
1/4 NSW 30 def SA 25
2/4 NSW 33 def NT 6
2/4 NSW 33 def VIC 23
3/4 NSW 39 def ACT 12
3/4 NSW 38 def TAS 14
4/4 NSW 25 lost to QLD 36
4/4 Semi finals NSW 30 def QLD 25
5/4 Finals NSW 19 lost to Victoria 20

2008 Result: Runners Up/ Second


Team Details:
Team in brief: The NSW 17 & Under state team have much to prove, aiming for their fourth consecutive title with new coach Megan Simpson (nee Fleiner) at the helm.  Megan, a former Commonwealth Games National Coach for Fiji, and a former Commonwealth Bank Trophy netballer herself, brings a wealth of coaching and playing experience to the young side which has a number of players making their state debut.

Netball NSW would like to congratulate the following athletes on their selection in the 2008 NSW 17 & Under Team.

2008 New South Wales 17 & Under Team
Jessica Dorn, Charlestown
Nicola Gray, Manly-Warringah
Alix Kennedy, Sutherland
Alix McDermott, Campbelltown
Danielle McGready, Gosford
Sophie Metcalfe, Manly-Warringah
Brooke Miller, Manly-Warringah
Samantha Poolman, Newcastle
Verity Simmons, Grafton
Megan Styles, Penrith
Jillian Townsend, Sutherland
Alexa Wilkinson, Gunnedah

State Team 17/U Coach: Megan Simpson
State Team 17/U Assistant Coach: Dianne Brown
State Team 17/U Manager: Maureen Stephenson