The NSW 17/U State Team has finished the 2009 National Netball Championships in third place, defeating Queensland 48-17 in the 3v4 play-off.

Entering the championship with high hopes, the NSW team ran into a red hot South Australian line-up who defeated them twice and were the eventual champions after defeating Victoria in the Grand Final.

In the third place play-off the NSW team led Queensland at every change, producing a dominant four-quarter display to restrict Queensland to just 10 goals in the first half and seven in the second half.

NSW coach Lenore Blades was pleased to finish on a winning note with victory over Queensland, 48-17 in the third place play-off.

“We came into the championship prepared to give it a go, but we played a very good South Australian team in the semi-final and came up short. But to finish the championship nicely and give everyone an opportunity in the final game was important for the team,” Blades said.

NSW 17/U Game Results
Round 1: NSW 39 def WA 20
Round 2: NSW 50 def QLD 24
Round 3: NSW 33 def ACT 24
Round 4: NSW 28 drew with VIC 28
Round 5: NSW 55 def NT 7
Round 6: SA 25 def NSW 23
Round 7: NSW 48 def TAS 17
Semi Final 2: SA 28 def NSW 23
3v4 play-off: NSW 48 def QLD 17

Netball NSW would like to congratulate the following players for the selection in the 2009 NSW 17/U State Netball Team:

Name Association
Bridget Abbott Manly-Warringah
Anita Blanco Sutherland Shire
Samantha Davis Wyong
Paige Hadley Penrith
Devon Halligan Manly-Warringah
Hannah Jones Eastwood Ryde
Hannah Lee Sutherland Shire
Alix McDermott Penrith
Brooke Miller Manly-Warringah
Gabi Simpson Randwick
Amy Sommerville Eastwood Ryde
Angelica Triant Eastwood Ryde
Coach: Lenore Blades
Assist. Coach: Di Brown
Manager: Narelle Stokes