Netball NSW confirmed on 15 January 2016, the players who will represent NSW at the 2016 17/U National Netball Championships.

Of this 12-strong 2016 NSW 17/U Team, three athletes return from the outfit that finished Runners-Up at the 2015 National Netball Championships. Demi Evans, Tayla Fraser and Teigan O’Shannassy all shone at last year tournament held at Netball Central and were acknowledged for their performances with selection in the 2015 17/U Australian squad.

High Performance coach Jo Macdermid will head up the NSW 17/U Team, bringing a wealth of knowledge to the side having been involved with three Championship-winning sides (2002, 2009-2010).

Macdermid will be supported by Assistant Coach Colleen Mitchell. Mitchell has an extensive resume having previously undertaken Assistant Coach roles with the NSW 19/U (2014) and NSW 17/U Teams (2013-2012), with Nikki Welsford the Team’s Manager.

On making the announcement, Netball NSW General Manager – High Performance Anna Longman said selectors were pleased with the strong competition for places during the four phases of trials.

“We were not only delighted with the record number of players who nominated to trial for this year’s NSW 17/U Team but very impressed with the standard of athletes coming through the NSW pathway.

“The calibre and depth of talent we had available made selecting the final 12 a difficult task, but we’re confident this team will equip themselves well at this year’s tournament and uphold NSW’s strong track record at Underage National Netball Championships,” Longman concluded.

The 2016 17/U and 19/U National Netball Championships will be contested from Monday 11 to Sunday 18 April at the State Netball Centre in Perth.

2016 NSW 17/U Team
Ebony BURNARD – Eastwood Ryde
Olivia COLEMAN – St George District
Laura DAVENPORT – Illawarra District
Lucinda DRINAN – Manly Warringah
Maddy EATON – Illawarra District
Demi EVANS – Wyong District
Tayla FRASER – Baulkham Hills Shire
Chelsea LOUGHREY – Eastwood Ryde
Shelby MALLON – Sutherland Shire
Matilda McDONELL – Liverpool City
Teigan O’SHANNASSY – Manly Warringah
Riley QUINN – Eastwood Ryde

2016 NSW 17/U Team Coaching and Support Staff
Head Coach: Jo Macdermid (Eastwood Ryde)
Assistant Coach: Colleen Mitchell (Baulkham Hills Shire)
Manager: Nikki Welsford (Penrith District)
Lead Physiotherapist: Pascal Wallace
Assistant Physiotherapist: Gabrielle Calavassy