Final Placing: 1st

NSW 19/U Team crowned National Champions in 2011

The NSW 19/U Team was crowned National Champions for the ninth time, defeating arch-rivals Victoria 36-21 at the Logan Metro Indoor Sports Centre in the Grand Final of the 2011 National Netball Championship in April, 2011.

Adding to the victory, NSW defender Gabi Simpson was named the Tournament MVP after standout performances across the entire week.

Tenacious in defence and patient in attack, the NSW team took control of the match early and set-up the 15-goal victory.

NSW Coach Lenore Blades was consistent in her message all week to the team about the need to build across the game, and today they did just that, breaking through the Victorian defensive wall to lead the match 7-5 at quarter-time.

The second quarter was where the match was won, with Amy Sommerville and Alix McDermott combining beautifully in the shooting circle to net 12 goals for the quarter, whilst at the other end of the court Hannah Lee and Gabi Simpson were suffocating in defence, starving Victoria of opportunities.

Renowned for their determination, the Victorians mounted a comeback in the third quarter, trying desperately to eat into the NSW lead, but going goal-for-goal wasn’t enough for the Victorians as NSW went into the final quarter with a 12-goal lead, 28-16.

With a wave of excitement filling the venue, the NSW supporters who had been in full voice all day, found that little bit extra to cheer the girls home as they dominated the last quarter to finish the championship undefeated with a 36-21 victory.


NSW 19/U Match Schedule

Friday, 15 April
Round 1   NSW 40 def TAS 18
Round 2   NSW 32 def VIC 25

Saturday, 16 April
Round 3   NSW 32 def WA 23
Round 4   NSW 28 def QLD 27

Sunday, 17 April
Round 5   NSW 42 def ACT 25
Round 6   NSW 31 def SA 29

Monday, 18 April
Round 7   NSW 38 def NT 23

Tuesday, 19 April
Semi-Finals NSW 35 def WA 17

Wednesday, 20 April
Grand Final  NSW 36 def VIC 21


19/U NSW State Team 2011
Anita Blanco
Paige Hadley (VC)
Sophie Halpin
Hannah Jones
Alix Kennedy
Hannah Lee
Alix McDermott
Brooke Miller (C)
Kimberley Ravaillion
Gabi Simpson
Amy Sommerville
Courtney Torpy

Head Coach – Lenore Blades
Assistant Coach – Megan Simpson
Manager – Donna Harrison
Physiotherapist – Nicole Smith
Massage Therapist – Laurence Pratt


Twelve players have been chosen to represent NSW at the 2011 19/U National Championship following Final Selections.

From 43 athletes that trialled at the Phase I selections, 26 athletes competed at the Final Selections for the final 12 spots in the team.

NSW will field an experienced lineup at the 2011 championship with 10 athletes boasting national championship experience.

Five athletes return from the 2010 19/U team which placed second at nationals including 2010 19/U National squad member Gabi Simpson and 2011 AIS Scholarship Holder Alix McDermott, whilst five athletes have graduated from the 2010 17/U state team including 2010 17/U National squad members Anita Blanco, Hannah Lee, Amy Sommerville and Courtney Torpy.

The team will be aiming to follow in the footsteps of previous NSW teams when they head to Brisbane for the championship from 15-20 April, 2011; the 2010 team lost the Grand Final by only three goals to finish with silver while the 2009 NSW team claimed the title over Queensland.

Athletes will be sent further information from Netball NSW regarding their selection.

In March 2011 the team captains were announced with Manly-Warringah representative Brooke Miller to lead the team with Penrith player Paige Hadley as her Vice Captain.

Both players were a part of the 2010 19/U team that finished Runner Up at the National Netball Championship and have great experience at the national level after also representing NSW in the 17/U age group.