The NSW 21/U Team have defended the National 21/U title with a nail-biting 43-41 victory over Victoria in the 2009 National Netball Championships in Canberra.

Adding to an incredible week of on-court performances NSW shooter, Kimberly Borger was named the Championship MVP and six players (Amy Wild, April Letton, Ashleigh Brazill, Courtney Tairi, Kimberly Borger and Chelsea Pitman) were named in the Australian 21/U Squad.

Entering the championship as the reigning title-holders, the undefeated NSW team found themselves trailing at the final break by three goals. But their experience shone through as they showed composure under pressure to outlast and outrun their southern rivals to claim their second consecutive championship.

“We’re really pleased with the result. All 12 players worked hard all week and contributed to each victory. Their commitment to the outcome could not be faulted and they all did their roles perfectly,” Fletcher said.

NSW 21/U Results
Round 1: NSW 50 def ACT 41
Round 2: NSW 60 def SA 44
Round 3: BYE
Round 4: NSW 37 drew with VIC 37
Round 5: NSW 90 def TAS 21
Round 6: NSW 60 def QLD 51
Round 7: NSW 58 def WA 44
Semi-final: NSW 68 def SA 42
Grand Final: NSW 43 def VIC 41

Netball NSW congratulates the following players on their selection in the 2009 NSW 21/U State Netball Team:

Name Association
Kimberley Borger Macleay
Ashleigh Brazill Wollondilly
Kristy Durheim Lismore
Maryanne Hamilton Eastwood Ryde
April Letton Sutherland Shire
Ashlee Mann Manly-Warringah
Jessica Mansell Sutherland Shire
Chelsea Pitman Randwick
Breeana Powell Sutherland Shire
Nicole Styles Penrith
Courtney Tairi Penrith
Amy Wild Fairfield City
Coach: Jon Fletcher
Assist. Coach: Jo MacDermid
Manager: Maureen Stephenson