The 2010 NSW 21/U State Team won its third consecutive 21/U national title after defeating South Australia 50-39 in the Grand Final on Monday October 4, 2010 at the 2010 21/U National Netball Championship in Logan, QLD.

Coming into the game as favourites after routing SA in the preliminary rounds, NSW withstood the pressure to be crowned national champions.

NSW Captain Amy Wild was thrilled with the fairytale finish.

“I’m so proud of all the girls and staff for their huge efforts all week. For seven of us this was our last nationals and we couldn’t have asked for a better ending,” Wild said.

NSW GK April Letton and Queensland GD Chanel Gomes were rewarded for outstanding performances throughout the tournament, sharing the Most Valuable Player of the Championship award.

Letton, alongside NSW GD Jessica Mansell, got NSW off to a terrific start in the decider as they plucked off intercepts in the opening quarter to give NSW an 11-9 lead at the first break.

SA came out of the first break determined to get back on top and they quickly levelled the scores. The teams went goal for goal before NSW forced SA into a turnover in the final minutes of the second quarter to steal a three-goal lead at halftime, 24-21.

NSW stepped up their aggression in the third quarter, challenging every ball and they were rewarded with a 10-goal lead with five minutes remaining in the term before SA regathered to reduce the margin to four goals at the final break, 34-30.

NSW stood up to the pressure in the fourth quarter as SA errors gifted them a couple of easy goals and they held on to win by 11 goals.

Earlier Victoria won the playoff for third place over QLD, 59-42.

Following the presentation the 2011 21/U National Squad was named including six NSW athletes; April Letton and Verity Simmons who represented NSW at the championships, as well as Melissa Tallent, Samantha Poolman, Nicola Gray and Kellyann Grayson.

The 2011 Australian Institute of Sport netball scholarship holders were also named with NSW’s Verity Simmons, Nicola Gray and Kellyann Grayson returning, with new scholarships to Alix McDermott, Melissa Tallent and Samantha Poolman.

2010 NSW 21U Team Name- State League team
Ashleigh Brazill – Eastwood Ryde
Sally Cain – Eastwood Ryde
Nicole Deegenaars – Manly Warringah
Alix McDermoot – Penrith
Kasey Ledbrook – St George
April Letton – Sutherland Shire
Jessica Mansell – Eastwood Ryde
Abbey McCulloch – Sutherland Shire
Breeana Powell – Manly Warringah
Verity Simmons – Grafton
Madeleine Smith – Sutherland Shire
Amorette Wild – Sutherland Shire

Coach – Maria Lynch
Assistant Coach – Jo MacDermid