NSW athletes selected in Australian underage squads

Updated: Wednesday 21 May

Thirteen NSW representatives have been selected into the Australian 17U and 19U Squads following the conclusion of the 2014 National Netball Championships in Melbourne.

Seven athletes were announced in the Australian 17U Development Squad, including Keira Austin (Eastwood Ryde), Prudence Ellis (Ku-ring-gai), Kristen Kessler (Wyong), Lauren Moore (Wyong), Claire O’Brien (St George), Amy Parmenter (Randwick) and Cassandra Radford (Sutherland Shire) in the 36-athlete strong squad.

A further five athletes were announced in the Australian 19U Squad, including Toni Anderson (Sutherland Shire), Madeline Hay (NSW Swifts/Sutherland Shire), Georgia Marshall (City of Sydney/Sydney Uni), Tanisha Stanton (Eastwood Ryde) and Lauren Yager (Sutherland Shire) in the 22 athlete-strong squad, to attend a five-day training camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra later this year.  On Tuesday 20 May, Netball Australia announced NSW 19/U defender Billie Gurr would also join the Australian 19/U squad.

Netball Australia’s National Pathway Manager Stacey West said selectors were impressed with the athletic potential and depth of talent on display throughout the National Championships and are keen to observe the selected athletes progression into the National Pathway system.

“Both squads have a depth of athletes that performed consistently well at the championships and athletes who demonstrated potential to enter our national pathway and be a potential Diamond,” West said.

Selectors have named 22 athletes in the 19/U National Squad while 36 athletes make up the 17/U National Development Squad.

“It’s very exciting we’re able to develop the athletes’ individual and team-based skills in a high performance squad camp environment” West said.

17/U Australian squad:
Casey Adamson (Victoria), Kiera Austin (New South Wales), Elizabeth Birch (Victoria), Natalie Bright (Western Australia), Jane Cook (Victoria), Mardi Cunningham (Victoria), Prudence Ellis (New South Wales), Bryah Gafa (Queensland), Sophie Garbin (Western Australia), Mandy Hanegraaf (Victoria), Mia Henderson (Queensland), Charlee Hodges (South Australia), Tayla Honey (Victoria), Kobe Howard (Queensland), Binnian Hunt (Queensland), Sophie Immonen (ACT), Kristen Kessler (New South Wales), Sharni Lambden (Victoria), Abigail Latu-Meafou (Queensland), Dana Lester (Tasmania), Isabella McDonald (Northern Territory), Alison Miller (ACT), Shelby Miller (Tasmania), Lenora Misa (Queensland), Lauren Moore (New South Wales), Jacqueline Newton (Victoria), Claire O’Brien (New South Wales), Amy Parmenter (New South Wales), Hannah Petty (South Australia), Cassandra Radford (New South Wales), Sarah Raper (South Australia), Stephanie Sarro (South Australia), Tabatha Saville (Northern Territory), Annabella Sorby (Queensland), Nicole Sulley-Beales (South Australia), Phoebe Wilcox (Western Australia).

19/U Australian squad*:
Toni Anderson (New South Wales), Jessica Anstiss (Western Australia), Lucy Armfield (South Australia), Maddy Balson (Northern Territory), Emily Burgess (South Australia), Mahalia Cassidy (Queensland), Georgia Clayden (ACT), Kate Eddy (Victoria), Samantha Gooden (Northern Territory), Billie Gurr (New South Wales), Hulita Haukinima (Queensland), Madeline Hay (New South Wales), Cara Koenen (Queensland), Annika Lee-Jones (Western Australia), Nicole Lendich (Western Australia), Georgia Marshall (New South Wales), Leah Middleton (Queensland), Emma Ryde-Code (Victoria), Kimberley Shepherd (Western Australia), Tanisha Stanton (New South Wales), Alice Teague-Neeld (Victoria), Numi Tupaea (Western Australia), Lauren Yager (New South Wales).

Photo credit Dave Callow/Netball Australia

*On Tuesday 20 May, Netball Australia announced NSW 19/U defender Billie Gurr would be elevated into the Australian 19/U Squad.  Gurr will join her NSW comrades at camp in Canberra.