NSW Officials take next step

It was a big night at DOOLEYS State League last Wednesday 10 June, and not just for the four teams contesting the Waratah Cup Semi Finals (click here to read Wednesday’s match report).

Four NSW Officials were successfully assessed across the night, with two umpires and two bench officials receiving their next National Accreditations.

Umpires Liana Sedgers (Baulkham Hills Shire Netball Association) and Sarah Hay (St George District Netball Association) were each awarded their National A Badges following their performances overseeing Division Two matches prior to Waratah Cup. Waratah Cup Semi Finals

The duo were assessed by the Netball NSW Umpires Assessment Panel, ticking the boxes to become the 131st and 132nd current NSW A Badged umpires.

This also follows the news from last week’s final round of Waratah Cup where umpires Helen Dolbel (Penrith Netball Association) and Emma Davey (Eastwood Ryde) were re-endorsed for their National A Badges for a further six years.

Congratulations are also extended to Margot Paterson (Northern Suburbs Netball Association) and Brian Cooper (Parramatta Auburn Netball Association) who became accredited National Bench Officials following their performance on the score bench during the Waratah Cup Major Semi Final between City of Sydney/Sydney Uni and Eastwood Ryde.

The Netball NSW Bench Officials Panel oversaw the assessment process, which included specific performance indicators in the role of scorer & timer.

Netball NSW Volunteer Workforce Manager Dianne Brown said it was an exciting night at DOOLEYS State League netball for all involved.

“Not only were spectators treated to some fantastic contests on court, but to see both umpires and bench officials receive the next step in their accreditation process shows the quality of competition that DOOLEYS State League offers NSW netball,” Brown said.

“I’m very proud of the quality of officials that NSW continues to produce, and that we are able to provide a competition platform – week in and week out – for players, coaches, umpires and officials to benefit from.

“On behalf of Netball NSW, congratulations to all four officials on their personal achievements, and we look forward to continuing to work with them on their development pathways,” Brown concluded.

The 2015 DOOLEYS State League Waratah Cup Finals Series continues next Wednesday 17 June with Eastwood Ryde taking on Sutherland Shire for a spot in the Grand Final.  Minor Premiers City of Sydney/Sydney Uni have already booked their place in the decider with a 14-goal victory over Eastwood Ryde in the Major Semi Final.

DOOLEYS State League Divisions 2-8 continue to contest their regular season, with Finals to begin the week commencing Monday 6 July.

For more information on coaching, umpiring or bench officials, plus workshops, click on the Participation section of the Netball NSW website to view the drop-down menu.