NSW representing on world stage

Whilst the netball world turns its attention to Sydney Olympic Park for the next 10 days, you would be forgiven for thinking that it’s just the incredible athletes that are on display during our sport’s pinnacle event – the Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015.

On the contrary, officials from across the world will descend on the 10-day tournament as umpires and bench officials without whom the game cannot go on.

At Netball NSW we pride ourselves on the work that is being done in the community to help progress and develop the wonderful talent we have in our ranks, which is highlighted by the world leaders in their fields.

NSW’s Rachael Ayre (Sutherland Shire), Michelle Phippard (Manly Warringah) and reigning 13-time Australian Umpire of the Year Sharon Kelly (Northern Suburbs) are part of a 17-strong Umpires pool who will oversee the world’s best netballers in action across the tournament, joining their fellow comrades in white from places such as New Zealand, South Africa, England and Jamaica. Netball NSW Hall of Fame member Maureen Boyle OAM is Chair of the Umpire Appointment Panel alongside four other legends of the sport.

And we all know the game cannot be played without the tireless work of our Bench Officials who not only keep the scores accurate, but shooting statistics, timings, injury timeouts, plus much more behind the scenes.

Netball NSW Board Executive Ruth Havrlant (Ku-ring-gai) has been appointed an Official Timer during NWC2015 and will be joined by NSW representative Sam Dawes (City of Sydney/Sydney Uni) in a 23-strong Officials group containing other Timers, Scorers and Statisticians.

The group ranges in origin – some travelling from Botswana to Trinidad & Tobago.

Whilst exciting times lie ahead for those selected to officiate during NWC2015, a number of local NSW-based umpires were also given a unique opportunity to officiate match-play training sessions involving some of the participating international teams.

Thirteen NSW umpires ranging from National A Badges to International Umpires Award (IUA) were hand picked to oversee match play including the Australian Diamonds, New Zealand Silver Ferns, Singapore, Uganda, Fiji and England, plus Australian 21/U Team and NSW Institute of Sport in the week leading up to Day 1 of the tournament.

Those umpires included; Tara Warner (Fairfield City), Emma Burgess (Sutherland Shire), Hayley Burgess (Sutherland Shire), Kylie Mulcare (Baulkham Hills Shire), Emma Davey (Eastwood Ryde), Stewart Ting (City of Sydney), Bronwen Adams (Manly Warringah), Liana Sedgers (Baulkham Hills Shire), Rebecca McKinnon (Northern Suburbs), Haydn Mackay (Manly Warringah), Alex Hernando (Newcastle), Rusi Bainivalu (Newcastle) and Clare McCabe (Eastwood Ryde).

So firstly, a big THANK YOU to the amazing umpires and bench officials who help run netball from local to elite levels. Secondly, a big congratulations to all our officials from Netball NSW and the NSW community!

Netball World Cup SYNDEY 2015 – Technical Officials
Helen Robinson Technical Delegate & Jury of Appeal Australia
Sue Taylor Jury of Appeal Australia
Janet Wrighton Jury of Appeal England
Octavia Gibson Jury of Appeal Barbados
Tebogo Lebotse Jury of Appeal Botswana
Maureen Boyle OAM Umpire Appointment Panel – Chair Australia*
Margaret Deighan Umpire Appointment Panel England
Maggie du Plessis Umpire Appointment Panel South Africa
Yvette Smith Umpire Appointment Panel Jamaica
David Pala’amo Umpire Appointment Panel New Zealand
Rachael Ayre Umpire Australia*
Joshua Bowring Umpire Australia
Jonathon Bredin Umpire New Zealand
Dave Brown Umpire Jamaica
Gary Burgess Umpire England
Paula Ferguson Umpire Australia
Ian Fuller Umpire England
Sharon Kelly Umpire Australia*
Lisa McPhail Umpire New Zealand
Jackie Mizon Umpire England
Yvonne Morgan Umpire New Zealand
Michelle Phippard Umpire Australia*
Theresa Prince Umpire South Africa
Kristie Simpson Umpire New Zealand
Tracey Smith Umpire England
Marie Louw Van der Merwe Umpire South Africa
Joel Young Strong Umpire Trinidad & Tobago
John Castles Bench Official Appointment – Coordinator Australia
Christine Robinson Bench Official Appointment – Coordinator Australia
Shane Chung Score Bench Manager Australia
Shaunne Higgs Score Bench Manager Australia
Kim Prescott-Brown Score Bench Manager Australia
Dianne Williams Score Bench Manager Australia
Elaine Anders Timer Australia
Sam Dawes Timer Australia*
Ruth Havrlant Timer Australia*
Rose Harker Timer Australia
Brian Hurley Timer Australia
Darelle Seal Timer Australia
Julie Trump Timer Australia
Kirrily Zimmerman Timer Australia
Sue Neal Scorer Australia
Pam Lonsdale Scorer Australia
Linda Probert Scorer Australia
Wayne Shepley Scorer Australia
Vicki Reid Statistician New Zealand
Merrin McCulloch Statistician Australia
Malcom Wright Statistician Australia
Zoe Hynec Data Entry Australia
Natalee Jennings Data Entry Australia
Vanessa Skendaris Data Entry Australia
Petrina Tui Pehi Data Entry Australia

*denotes NSW representative