NSW umpires flying the flag in 2015

Following the conclusion of the 2014 ANZ Championship and Australian Netball League seasons, the top seven umpires from within the Netball Australia High Performance Umpire Program have been offered a place within the 2015 ANZ Championship Australian umpire squad.

Netball NSW would like to congratulate five of our umpires who have been appointed as officials of the 2015 ANZ Championship.

Twelve-time Netball Australia Umpire of the Year Sharon Kelly from Northern Suburbs Netball Association will once again oversee some of the best netballing talent in the world’s premier netball competition.

Kelly, who has overseen all seven ANZ Championship Grand Finals, will be joined by fellow NSW umpires Helen George (Hills District), Clare McCabe (Eastwood Ryde), Michelle Phippard (Manly-Warringah), and former Sutherland Shire umpire Rachael Ayre throughout next year’s 17-week season.  Joining the NSW contingent will be Josh Bowring from Tasmania and Marc Henning from Victoria.

Netball NSW Umpire & Officials Development Coordinator Jan Simpson said the organisation was incredibly proud to see five out of the seven umpires appointed to the ANZ Championship hail from New South Wales.

“It’s a wonderful achievement for each of the ladies appointed to officiate next year’s ANZ Championship, as well as for Netball NSW showing the quality of umpiring that hails from this State,” Simpson said.

“They have all worked very hard at their craft, and are always willing to give back to the community by helping mentor and coach younger umpires, presenting at courses, and supporting the Netball NSW development pathway.

“Sharon has been the benchmark for umpires in this country and overseas for many years, and it’s fantastic to see she will be continuing to do what she does best next season as well as the return of Rachael, Helen and Michelle after impressive 2014 seasons.

“On behalf of Netball NSW I would like to say a big congratulations to the group, and look forward to seeing you all in action during the 2015 ANZ Championship,” Simpson concluded.

Junior umpires looking to follow in the footsteps of Sharon Kelly and the like have the opportunity to take the first step by attending the 2014 Umpires Rookie Camp later this year.

Held at the Anne Clark Centre on Saturday 8 and Sunday 9 November, the Rookie Camp is open to all umpires who were awarded their National C Badge during the 2014 season.  Our friends in white can come together, learn more about the art of umpiring with real-time mentoring from National A Badged umpires, as well as make new friends and have a lot of fun!

Registrations are now open; click here for more information and how to register.

2015 ANZ Championship Umpires
in alphabetical order…
Rachael Ayre – ACT
Josh Bowring – TAS
Helen George – NSW
Marc Henning – VIC
Sharon Kelly – NSW
Clare McCabe – NSW
Michelle Phippard – NSW