NSW umpires attend High Performance camp

Update: 21/05/15

Three NSW umpires were amongst a group of Australia’s up-and-coming umpires set to begin their introduction to Netball Australia’s High Performance Umpire Pathway.

Sarah Hay from St George Netball Associaion joined Ku-ring-gai Netball Association representatives Rebecca McKinnon and Kim Chan when they travelled with a select group of umpires to Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence in Canberra, spending three days at the National Developing Umpire Camp which was held alongside the Australian 17/U national camp.

Netball Australia’s Head of Sport Development Anne-Marie Phippard said the National Developing Umpire Camp is the third tier and the entry point to the National High Performance Umpire Pathway.

“The camp focuses on providing training and education to Australia’s developing umpires through immersing them in a high performance environment,” Phippard told Netball Australia before the camp.

“The umpires will be involved in their own professional development program as well as integrating in the court work and match play sessions with the athletes.”

The group were chosen after umpiring at the 2015 17/U and 19/U National Netball Championships, which was contested at Netball NSW’s brand new $35 million centre of excellence, Netball Central.

Nationally appointed umpire coaches Raechel Richards, Marj Kerslake and NSW’s Clare McCabe oversaw the camp, along with seven mentor coaches invited along from the states and territories– Kerryn McLaughlin, Vince Marzano, Dianne Cocker, Graeme Gilbert, Diana Kennedy, Kylie Bell and NSW’s Stewart Ting.

“Netball Australia is committed to providing increased opportunities for high performance umpire coaches and mentors to develop their skills and knowledge,” Phippard said.

“The Developing Umpire Camp provides the perfect development opportunity to expose a number of umpire coaches and mentors from across the country to the high performance environment and provide a suitable professional development program.”

Congratulations to all umpires involved.

Article courtesy of Netball Australia website: www.netball.com.au