NSW Umpires rewarded with appointments

Netball Australia has announced the umpires for this year’s ANZ Championship, including five from New South Wales.

Eight of the nine in the pool are current International Umpire Award (IUA) holders, adding to the depth of Netball Australia’s High Performance Umpire Pathway.

Making up the Australian ANZ Championship pool are: Rachael Ayre (ACT), Michelle Phippard (NSW), Josh Bowring (TAS), Helen George (NSW), Clare McCabe (NSW), Tara Warner (NSW), Kate Wright (VIC), Marc Henning (VIC) and Bronwen Adams (NSW).

In further good news for the Australian netball family, Ayre gave birth to her daughter Lia last week.

These umpires from Netball Australia’s High Performance Umpire Program will come together for the first time in 2016 at a training camp in Sydney this weekend.

The camp will focus on the new rules introduced by the International Netball Federation (INF) this year, fitness testing, performance psychology and individual umpire development plans. It’s part of Netball Australia’s holistic approach to umpire development and ensuring our umpires remain the world’s best.

The nine recently-appointed coaches of the National High Performance Umpire Pathway will also attend the camp.

Netball Australia has also announced the panels for the upcoming national championships being played in Launceston (21/U) and Perth (17/U and 19/U).

The panel for the 21/U National Netball Championships, March 8-13:
Andrea Booth (VIC), Hayley Burgess (NSW), Emma Davey (NSW), Natasha Tassone (WA), James Matthews (VIC), Justin Barnes (WA), Georgina Sulley-Beales (SA), Nathan Begley (VIC), Laura Payne (WA), Danielle Trowell (VIC), Rebecca McKinnon (NSW).

The panel for the 17/U and 19/U National Netball Championships, April 11-16:
Sarah Slattery (ACT), Christine Lawson (ACT), Thomas Turner (NSW), Sarah Hay (NSW), Tayla Favell (NSW), Tamara Welsford (NSW), Kim Chan (NT), Jessica Lakeman (QLD), Nicole Pratt (QLD), Rebecca Ferguson (SA), Caitlin North (SA), Elizabeth Rhodes (SA), Brodie Roberts (VIC), Madeline O’Nial (VIC), Timothy Marshall (VIC), Rachael Stebbings (TAS), James Adams (TAS), Vanessa Pittorini (WA), Christine Johnston (WA), Andrea Paini (WA).

The umpiring panel for the Australian Netball League will be announced in mid-March following the 21/U national titles.