Three NSW umpires selected for Nationals

Netball NSW is delighted to announce that three of the organisation’s umpires have been selected to officiate at the 17/U & 19/U National Netball Championships in Canberra next week.

The three – Tamara Welsford, Thomas Turner and Tayla Favell – are among 18 umpires announced by Netball Australia on Wednesday, 12 April. Ten of the selected umpires were assessed throughout the Australian Netball League season and picked by Netball Australia, with the remaining eight nominated by their respective Member Organisations.

Speaking on Wednesday, Head Umpire Coach Michelle Phippard recognised the progression in the development pathway.

“Selection for a National Championship is a significant achievement for any umpire, and an opportunity to progress further on the national development pathway,” she said.

Phippard also congratulated the umpires and umpire coaches on their selection.

“The pool of umpires selected for the 2017 event have performed strongly during the ANL season and/or their state based competitions over the past twelve months to earn their places. They deserve congratulations for their efforts.”

The 2017 National Netball Championships will be held in Canberra, beginning next Wednesday, April 19.

UNMPIRES: Danielle Trowell (ACT), Sarah Slattery (ACT), Jeremy Spindler (ACT), Georgina Sulley-Beales (SA), Rebecca Ferguson (SA), Cara Davies (SA), Andrea Paini (WA), Christine Johnston (WA), Tamara Welsford (NSW), Thomas Turner (NSW), Tayla Favell (NSW), Mark Munnich (NT), Laura Hayes (QLD), Nathan Begley (VIC), Timothy Marshall (VIC), Ashlea Anderson (VIC), James Adams (TAS), Rachael Stebbings (TAS).