Umpires selected for NA Squad C

Four of Netball New South Wales’ finest umpires have been selected for the Netball Australia High Performance Umpire Program Squad C.

After outstanding 2016 seasons Tamara Welsford (fifth from left above), Hayley Burgess, Emma Burgess, and Tayla Favell (L-R on far right) were selected late last year.

Not only does Squad C provide a stepping stone for each of the umpires, it also opens up the opportunity for them to progress into the Netball Australia High Performance Pathways.

However, this season the umpires will be focusing on working towards being allocated an Australian Netball League (ANL) match in NSW, which features the Netball NSW Waratahs.

Based on performance whilst umpiring the ANL, individuals can then be invited by Netball Australia to attend the 17/U and 19/U National Netball Championships in Canberra – 19 -24 April 2017.

Netball NSW umpire coach Sharon Kelly said she was very proud of the four umpires’ achievements so far and looked forward to working with them in the future.

“This is fantastic news for all four NSW representatives and very much merited for all the long hours of effort and dedication they have put in,” Kelly said.

“We constantly produce wonderful playing and officiating talent in NSW and these umpires are no exception.

“It is wonderful that we at Netball NSW are able to help them on their way towards fulfilling their ambitions in netball.”

Netball NSW would like to wish the four umpires the best of luck and give a huge congratulations on all of their efforts so far.