2018 Marie Little OAM Shield NSW Team Announced

NSW athletes selected for 2018 Marie Little OAM Shield

Netball NSW is pleased to announce the 2018 Marie Little OAM Shield Team who will represent our State at the national tournament being hosted in Brisbane, QLD later this year.

Head Coach Jenny O’Keeffe has selected a wider squad of 18 athletes, which includes 10 players in the team and a further eight Training Partners who will participate in NSW’s campaign leading up to the competition being played 5-7 October  

Having gone through the 2017 tournament to win gold, NSW will welcome back six players to this year’s team as well as four new and three returning faces. Brittany Anderson, Taylor Anderson and Casey Stevens will make there Marie Little OAM Shield debut this year, while NSW welcome back Karina Baines (Penrith) who was part of the successful 2016 team – also crowned undefeated Champions.

O’Keeffe said it was great to see so many familiar faces returning to the team, as well as the welcome additions of training partners, as NSW embark on Day 1 of their 2018 campaign.

“We’re really excited by the team we have representing NSW at this year’s Marie Little OAM Shield Tournament,” O’Keeffe said.

“We have some athletes returning for their third or fourth consecutive year, and the experience they bring will be integral. But it’s also fantastic to welcome some new faces amongst the group to learn and develop their skills – hopefully it will encourage others to pick up netball and give it a go.”

Named after disability netball pioneer Marie Little OAM, the shield is a national netball championships for women with an intellectual disability and supported by national community inclusion partner Australia Post.

Six States and Territories will participate in the 2018 event, which is an important event in the annual Australia Post One Netball calendar, alongside other national diversity and inclusion programs.

Congratulations to all the athletes named in the 2018 Netball NSW Marie Little OAM Shield Team.

2018 NSW Marie Little OAM Shield Team

Brittany ANDERSON – Illawarra
Taylor ANDERSON – Illawarra
Dallas AUSTIN – Blue Mountains
Karina BAINES – Penrith
Melissa GALLAGHER – Blue Mountains
Kristin MERCER – Sutherland
Eliza MILLS – Orange
Bernadette MILLS – Orange
Nalyn SIRIVIVATNANON – Eastwood Ryde
Casey STEVENS – Sutherland

Training Partners

Emily Bloor – Camden
Jessica Daher – Sutherland
Rebel Ervasti – Hastings Valley
Eadynn Haak – Manly
Jemima Heberden – Ku-ring-gai
Ellen Hester – Eastwood Ryde
Jade Lucy – Sutherland
Jane Thorpe – Sutherland

Support Staff

Head Coach: Jenny O’Keeffe (Baulkham Hills)
Assistant Coach: Therri Ellison (Inner West)
Manager: Ellen Monaghan (Newcastle)
Development Coach: Gill Bennett (Eastwood Ryde)
Umpire: Jacqui Osbourne (Eastwood Ryde)