2018 TAFE NSW Schools Cup State Final

Now in its sixth year, the TAFE NSW Schools Cup once again proved popular amongst primary and secondary schools across New South Wales, with a record number of students participating in 2018.

The TAFE NSW Schools Cup is a Netball NSW initiative giving female and male primary and secondary school students in years five, six, seven, eight, nine and ten from public, independent and Catholic systems in the state the opportunity to enjoy netball in an inclusive and enjoyable environment.

More than 15,000 students from all across the State played in the 2018 TAFE NSW Schools Cup competition, with the State Final contested on Tuesday 25 and Wednesday 26 September at Netball NSW’s centre of excellence, the Genea Netball Centre

The 2018 TAFE NSW Schools Cup kicked off in March with all eight regions – Sydney Metropolitan, Hunter, West/Central West, Far North Coast, South Coast, Northern Inland, North Coast and Riverina – holding Local Days in their area.

Students contested in six age divisions – Year 3/4 Mixed (Gala Days), Years 5/6 Mixed, Years 7/8 Girls, Years 7/8 Boys, Years 9/10 Girls and Years 9/10 Boys. A total of 1527 teams participated in 47 Local Days across NSW, which saw winners advance to their local Regional Final to determine who would represent their region at the State Final.

With the opportunity to call themselves State Champions on the line, 38 Regional Champion teams gathered in Genea Netball Centre at Sydney Olympic Park for two big days of competition.

On Tuesday, the Primary Division State Final took place, which included a lunch time showdown between our very own Sporty Swift and GIA the GIANT. Whilst there some dispute around the race, Sporty Swift was crowned the 2018 Schools Cup Mascot Race Champion.

After being just out of reach of the Cup back in the competition’s inaugural year, Jerrabomberra Public School were back to prove a point. After moving through the day undefeated, Jerrabomberra Public School finally had a breakthrough by claiming the Year 5/6 Mixed title after a thrilling 23-21 win over St Mary’s Catholic Primary School, Toukley in the Grand Final.

Day two of the 2018 TAFE NSW Schools Cup State Finals saw the Secondary Divisions ready for their shot at the title.

In the Year 7/8 Girls Division, the Sydney Metropolitan’s Westfields Sports High went back-to-back as State Champions after a hit out against All Saints College from the Hunter Region (29-18).

The Year 7/8 Boys Division saw State Final maidens, Tumut High School go through undefeated to claim the title against Trinity Catholic College with a 20-13 end result.

The Year 9/10 Divisions delivered some nail biters with both games being within a 2-point margin for the most part. In the 9/10 Boys, De La Salle, Revesby were well matched by North Coast representatives MacKillop Catholic College, Port Macquarie. There were outstanding displays of athleticism and sportsmanship demonstrated from both teams, but in the end De La Salle won 9-8 and went back-to-back to maintain their undefeated status for two years running.

Likewise, in the 9/10 Girls Division, Westfields Sports High were out to reclaim the State Title for the second consecutive year. The match was a thriller for all spectators and an exceptional representation of the talent that is present within NSW schools. After a hard-fought game, MacKillop Catholic College, Warnevale came out on top with a 16-14 win to claim the title as State Champions.

Teams who competed in the 2018 TAFE NSW Schools Cup State Finals were:

2018 Winners & Runners Up

Year 5/6 Mixed
Winners: Jerrabomberra Public School (South Coast)
Runners-up: St Mary’s Catholic Primary School (Hunter)

Year 7/8 Girls
Winners: Westfields Sports High School (Sydney Metropolitan)
Runners-up: All Saints College, St Peter’s Campus (Hunter)

Year 7/8 Boys
Winners: Tumut High School (Riverina)
Runners-up:  Trinity Catholic College (Far North Coast)

Year 9/10 Girls Division
Winners: MacKillop Catholic College, Warnevale (Hunter)
Runners-up: Westfields Sports High School (Sydney Metropolitan)

Year 9/10 Boys Division
Winners: De La Salle, Revesby (Sydney Metropolitan)
Runners-up: MacKillop Catholic College, Port Macquarie (North Coast)