Aussie young guns prepare for world’s best

NNSW 21U winners 2016

Some of Australia’s best and brightest netball talent are gathered in Canberra at the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) this week, preparing to take on the world’s best as part of their 2017 World Netball Youth Cup preparations.

2016 NSW Swift Lauren Moore, along with her NSW compatriots Toni Anderson, Kiera Austin, Rudi Ellis and Claire O’Brien have been in Australian 20/U camp this week under the tutelage of Head Coach Tania Obst as they prepare to host teams from New Zealand and England this weekend, Saturday 13 and Sunday 14 August, at the AIS.

The round robin tournament will see Australia field two teams – Australia Green and Australia Gold – up against the NZ 21/U team, Aotearoa Maori 20/U team, England 21/U team and a combined SIS/SAS team comprising of Academy athletes from around Australia – including NSW’s own Alison Miller, Teigan O’Shannassy and Amy Parmenter.

At the time of the Australian 20/U squad announcement, Obst said this weekend’s international tournament will provide perfect preparation for the athletes – as well as selectors – with an eye on next year’s WMYC in Botswana.

“I’ve been watching this group of athletes closely for three years now through our 17/U and 19/U National Championships and now I’m really keen to see what they can do in that competition environment,” Obst said.

“I’m very much looking forward to, first of all getting this squad on the court in some specialist coaching for the first two days of our camp, and then putting them on the court against athletes who could potentially be some of our international opponents in July next year.

“While a number of our World Youth Cup team will come from this group, we’re keeping a wider eye on athletes outside this group as well.”

This weekend’s competition will feature some exciting talent, including 22 athletes with ANZ Championship experience; 13 full-time 2016 contracted players from both Australian and New Zealand franchises, along with a further eight having been included as temporary replacement players.

Netball Australia will be announcing game-by-game results via their social media channels, as well as their website;

Click here to view the 20/U International Series Fixtures.

Best of luck to our Aussie athletes ahead of this weekend!

2016 Australian 20/U Squad:
Casey Adamson (VIC), Toni Anderson (NSW – Thunderbirds replacement player), Jess Anstiss (WA), Lucy Armfield (SA), Kiera Austin (NSW – Swifts replacement player), Natalie Bright (WA), Emily Burgess (SA), Jane Cook (VIC), Kate Eddy (VIC), Prudence Ellis (NSW – Swifts replacement player), Sophie Garbin (WA – Fever replacement player), Matilda Garrett (VIC), Sasha Glasgow (SA), Samantha Gooden (VIC – Vixens replacement player), Tayla Honey (VIC), Cara Koenen (QLD), Annika Lee-Jones (WA), Jemma Mi Mi (QLD), Lauren Moore (NSW – Swifts), Claire O’Brien (NSW – Swifts replacement player), Hannah Petty (SA – Thunderbirds), Kelsie Rainbow (TAS), Emma Ryde (VIC – Vixens), Alice Teague-Neeld (VIC – Vixens).
Click here to view the full announcement.

2016 SIS/SAS Team:
Gabrielle Coffey (NT), Zoe Haseler (ACT), Charlee Hodges (SA – Thunderbirds replacement player), Sharni Lambden (VIC), Abigail Meafou (QLD), Alison Miller (NSW), Shelby Miller (TAS), Jacqui Newton (VIC), Teigan O’Shannassy (NSW), Amy Parmenter (NSW – Swifts replacement player), Kimberley Shepherd (WA), Nicola Sulley-Beales (SA), Ashlee Unie (QLD), Phoebe Wilcox (WA).
Click here to view the full announcement.

NZ 20/U Team:
Charlotte Elley (Tactix), Monica Falkner, Abby Erwood (Steel), Sydney Fraser, Jamie Hume (Steel), Fa’amu Ioane (Mystics), Kelly Jury (Magic), Grace Kukutai, Holly Fowler (Mystics), Tiana Metuarau, Jamie-Lee Price (Magic), Mila Reuelu-Buchanan, Michaela Sokolich-Beatson (Mystics), Maia Wilson (Pulse).
Click here to view the full announcement.

Aotearoa Maori 20/U Team:
Kate Burley, Courtney Elliot, Antonia Heihei, Victoria Kolose, Blaze Leslie (Pulse), Kelsey McPhee, Emma-May Murray, Mererangi Paul, Kimiora Poi, Renee Savai’inaea, Chiara Semple, Layce Walker.
Click here to view the full announcement.

England 21/U Team:
Imogen Allison, Rebekah Airey, Summer Artman, Brittany Coleman, Rhea Dixon, George Fisher, Brie Grierson, Alana John, Emily Hollingworth, Gabriella Marshall, Vicki Oyesola, Paige Reed, Jess Shaw, Francesca Williams.
Click here to view the full announcement.