Carlton elevated to International Recognition

Netball NSW would like to congratulate Jemma Carlton on being awarded her International Umpiring Award (IUA) after officiating Monday night’s ANZ Championship match between NSW Swifts and West Coast Fever.

21 year old Carlton becomes just the sixth New South Wales endorsed umpire to receive an IUA and the 30thofficial to join a list of international umpires* who actively officiate at the top level.

Netball NSW Umpires and Officials Development Coordinator Jan Simpson has worked with Carlton from the beginning of her development pathway, and was full of praise for the young umpire.

“This is a fantastic award for Jemma after the years of hard work she has put into her umpiring,” said Simpson.

“She is a quiet achiever … she has always been able to take feedback from those around her and apply it to her game, which is why she has been recognised at a young age.”

“Jemma is a very generous person – it’s about what she can give back to the sport … she is always willing to help those on their development pathway, attending Netball NSW Umpire Camps to help mentor and coach those coming up the ranks.”

“It’s a great achievement for Jemma and I can’t congratulate her enough on her achievements,” concluded Simpson. 

Hailing from Manly-Warringah Netball Association, Carlton began umpiring in primary school and was awarded her National ‘C’ Badge in May 2004 when she was just 10 years old. 

Carlton continued her development pathway with Netball NSW, receiving coaching and mentoring from experienced umpires such as Rachel Ayre and Sharon Kelly, and in 2007 was awarded her National ‘B’ and National ‘A’ Badges within four months of each other.

Carlton moved into the National Development pool and in September 2010 was awarded her National ‘AA” badge from Netball Australia.

Netball fans can see Carlton officiating during the 2013 ANZ Championship and will also be involved in the International Netball Series later in the year.

*List of endorsed IUA Umpires (as of 27/03/13)
Rachael Ayre (NSW/Australia)
Gary Burgess (England)
Jonathan Bredin (New Zealand)
Dave Brown (Jamaica)
Joshua Bowring (Australia)
Liz Boon (New Zealand)
Bobbi Brown (Reid) (New Zealand)
Sylvester Campbell (Jamaica)
Jemma Carlton (NSW/Australia)
Paula Ferguson (Australia)
Helen George (NSW/Australia)
Marc Henning (Australia)
Dalton Hinds (Jamaica)
Marion Johnson-Hurley (Barbados)
Sharon Kelly (NSW/Australia)
Annie Kloppers (South Africa)
Bronwyn Meek (Spier) (New Zealand)
Fay Meiklejohn (New Zealand)
Clare McCabe (NSW/Australia)
Lisa McPhail (New Zealand)
Amanda Nottingham (New Zealand)
Terrence Peart (Jamaica)
Michelle Phippard (NSW/Australia)
Theresa Prince (South Africa)
Kristie Simpson (New Zealand)
Tracy Smith (England)
Louise Travis (England)
Janice Treasure (England)
Kate Wright (Australia)
Joel Young Strong (Trinidad & Tobago)